Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Dazzman
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 1 of 4 (1,056 Views)

Windows 2008 AutoCAD 2014 Deployment issues

1056 Views, 3 Replies
04-18-2013 12:26 AM

We have Windows 2008 servers in our offices around the UK that serve a number of purposes one of which is to act as hosts for the Autodesk product deployments, this has worked well in the past but I now find that AutoCAD 2014 will not allow a deployment to be created because the OS is not compliant.

 

Is there any way to invoke the network deployment option without the setup checking the core system I can understand why it does it but would have thought that an additional option would be available to produce the deployment even though it would not install on its host?

 

I know that I can use a workstation to create the deployment on the server share but the convenience of connecting directly to the server to create it modify and apply patches has been ideal if I now have to connect to a workstation at each remote site before I can do any of this just seems to be another issue that Autodesk have imposed on us?

 

Comments please.

Mentor
jtbworld
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎08-03-2007
Message 2 of 4 (1,028 Views)

Re: Windows 2008 AutoCAD 2014 Deployment issues

04-18-2013 07:01 PM in reply to: Dazzman

Did you run the setup directly on Windows 2008? If so, try instead to run it on your PC, that is a system that is supported like Windows 7 or 8. Then you set the deployment path to the server using UNC format.

Jimmy Bergmark
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Specialities: AutoCAD, AutoCAD Architecture and Revit
http://www.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport - network license reports
http://www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport/index.htm
Distinguished Contributor
Dazzman
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 3 of 4 (1,018 Views)

Re: Windows 2008 AutoCAD 2014 Deployment issues

04-19-2013 12:02 AM in reply to: jtbworld

I have done that the point I was trying to get across is that I’m now going to have to do that at every site around the UK to allow me to create the deployments on the servers and then again every time I need to modify them for adding service packs etc it just seems inconvenient.


If they can add a feature that allows you to combine deployments for 32/64 bit installations why can’t they make is so that you can create a deployment on any system as long as it has the correct 32/64 bit version, so the installation would start the splash screen would state that the current OS is not supported but would provide an option to allow you to continue and create the deployment.

 

Anyone from Autodesk out there listening?

Member
benyala
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-07-2013
Message 4 of 4 (317 Views)

Re: Windows 2008 AutoCAD 2014 Deployment issues

11-07-2013 02:02 AM in reply to: Dazzman

right click on setup.exe properties then compatablity , check mark run as then choose win xp sp3

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!