Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why no free trial or free student version for linux?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 3 of 6
nburgin
991 Views, 5 Replies

why no free trial or free student version for linux?

Maya definitely has a linux version, but it does not appear to be offered as a free trial edition or a free student edition. As a linux user who needs Maya for a computer graphics class at Purdue University, I find this incredibly disappointing.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
nburgin
in reply to: nburgin

I am a student and for some reason the download page CANNOT COMPREHEND the idea that a student wanting a free student version might be using linux, it only offers the Windows and Mac versions. I want a free student copy of the linux version of Maya. I know there is a linux version of Maya, and yet the download page for the free version for students will not let me download it. Seriously, this is a problem.

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Message 2 of 6
nburgin

I resorted to trying to get the windows version to work on WINE. It did not work.

Thanks
Discussion_Admin

Message 4 of 6
philip.s

Hello nburgin,

Unfortunately at this time the Autodesk Education Community does not support Linux. I understand this is not what you want to hear (and can assure you that you're not alone in this matter), but wanted to inform you that I've passed this thread / your feedback onto the appropriate parties for review.

Very best,

Message 5 of 6
d.doyle3
in reply to: philip.s

I would also love to see a Linux version for students... Having to dual boot is getting annoying, especially when I use Linux for pretty much every other bit of scripting etc

Hope to see a Linux version soon!

Message 6 of 6
stoppy