Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 1 of 4 (12,794 Views)

What is the Productinformation.pit file & adlmPITSetProductInformation error?

12794 Views, 3 Replies
02-15-2011 06:54 AM

The Productinformation.pit file is like an Excel spreadsheet and it records all the 2010 & 2011 Autodesk products installed on your computer.   This file will be present if you install the Standalone or Network versions of the software.


In some older posts,  to resolve this error, you would remove the Productinformation.pit  file to install the Autodesk product.  The problem potentially is that it will cause all your other Autodesk products installed on the computer to not launch.

 

Here is an example scenario:

 

  • AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010 is installed on your computer.
  • You are trying to install AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 and you get the following error:
                 Install failed: 1: 5 2: adlmPITSetProductInformation failed. 3:9
  • Move the ProductInformation.pit file into:
                Vista/Windows 7 - C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm\pit-2010 or
                Windows XP - C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\ADLM\pit-2010
  • You should be able to install AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011.
  • You should also be able to run AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011.  When you try to run AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010, it will not run and in this case, the AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010 splash screen will come up and then just disappear.
  • Move the ProductInformation.pit file into:
                Vista/Windows 7 - C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm\pit-2011 or
                Windows XP - C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\ADLM\pit-2011
  • The customer had on the network a computer with a working version of AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010 & AutoCAD 3D 2011 with the correct multi-seat Standalone serial number so we moved the working “ProductInformation.pit” file onto the non-working computer and it worked. 
  • The non-working computer had the following folders:
               C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm\pit-2010 -> Productinformation.pit file for only 2010
               C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm\pit-2011 -> Productinformation.pit file for only 2011
               C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm\ -> Productinformation.pit file from working system that contained information for AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010 & 2011.

We saved a bit of time because the typical workaround would have been to move/delete the Productinformation.pit file, uninstall all your software and then and then re-install all your software.

 

Check out the following posts for more information:


http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/AutoCAD-2011-64-bit-Installation-Problem/m-p/27...


http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/MB2011-Install-failed-1-5-2-adlmPITSetProductIn...

 

 



David Lau
Product Support
anil.choudhary
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-30-2006
Message 2 of 4 (12,747 Views)

Re: What is the Productinformation.pit file & adlmPITSetProductInformation e

02-15-2011 10:18 PM in reply to: david.lau

Thanks David, Good info to know.

 

Cheers



Anil Choudhary
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
andrea.degiorgi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-25-2011
Message 3 of 4 (7,573 Views)

Re: What is the Productinformation.pit file & adlmPITSetProductInformation e

09-20-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: anil.choudhary

Hi.

This problem is still alive. :smileysad:

Yesterday I tried to install Autocad Plant 3D 2013, but the following error 1: 5 2: adlmPITSetProductInformation failed. 3: 2, blocked the installation.

I had to rename ProductInformation.pit in ProductInformation_.pit and reinstall Autocad Plant 3D 2013.

On my workstation was already installed the PDS 2013 and now I always have to rename these files when I use PDS or Plant 3D.

There is a final solution or just this workaround?

Thank you so much.
Regards,

Andrea

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 4 (7,563 Views)

Re: What is the Productinformation.pit file & adlmPITSetProductInformation e

09-20-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: andrea.degiorgi

Uninstall all your Autodesk products.  Delete the .pit fie and then reinstall the Autodesk products.  This the only solution and it is potentially time consuming.



David Lau
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.