Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
hans.martin.haga
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 3 (251 Views)

Vault deployment wizard - hotfixes

251 Views, 2 Replies
10-26-2012 04:37 AM

Autodesk, can you please improve the Deployment Wizard?

 

As hotfixes are required to use Inventor and Vault, hotfixes also need to be applied during the installation. If you ask the users to do it manually, it is 99% certain that the hotfixes will not be installed. And then they start calling support...

 

When the deployment wizard is run, it connects to Autodesk and searches for... service packs! As there is no service pack for Vault 2013, the option to install any service pack/hotfix is greyed out.

 

I have, however, found that I can add hotfixes by changing the DNS-settings to e.g. 10.0.0.1, so that the wizard can't connect with Autodesk's servers :smileytongue:

 

Next issue: Can we please have the internal name of the MSP-files corrected?

"Installing Vault Collaboration 2012 sample hotfix" doesn't look good...

 

Install hotfixes with deployment wizard

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,204
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 3 (242 Views)

Re: Vault deployment wizard - hotfixes

10-26-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

I came across the same issue and reported it about a month ago.  The response I got from AD is:

 

"Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are currently investigating this issue.

I was able to replicate the issue you reported using the Product Design Suite Installer just as you described.

The same thing happened using the Electrical installer it showed the product was up-to-date just like the above.

 

You used the Electrical DVDs so there might be a difference there.

 

I will keep you updated on the findings."

 

Hans... I like your work around.  I will try that the next time I need to modify the deployment.

Product Support
4donwan4
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 3 of 3 (113 Views)

Re: Vault deployment wizard - hotfixes

11-05-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

If you want to see this to be added you are better off using the following link to post these comments. At this time only service packs can be added to deployments. The hotfix architecture does not have that capability.
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

Don

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.