Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
m4t3u5LP
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2013
Message 1 of 3 (221 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using autoCAD on different computers

221 Views, 2 Replies
12-08-2013 10:56 PM

I currently have a laptop unsuited for running autoCAD as smoothly as it should be run, but i am planning on getting a new computer made specially for the task. I am, however, anxious to get started and would like to know if i can install the program on this computer and then intall the same one on the new one? Is there a limit to how many computers i can install autoCAD on? How does this work?

 

thank you in advance,

 

-Mat

Hi Mat and welcome to the forums

 

With regards to your seat count enquiry, it would depend on the type of license you own in the first place. 

 

If you own a commercial license you may install it on 2 machines (one desktop and one laptop).

 

However if you own a student license, you will only be allowed to install it on one machine at any point in time. Tol transfer your student license between machines, you may use the online license transfer utility as seen here.

 

Should you require further clartification, please drop me a personal message (Click on my muhammad.farhan.abdul.manan profile name and then send this user a private message) with the following details:

Serial number(s)
Request code / Host Name & Host ID
Company name (if license is registered to an organization)

or contact our License Assistance team for direct support.

Alumni
muhammad.farhan.abdul.manan
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
Message 2 of 3 (215 Views)

Re: Using autoCAD on different computers

12-08-2013 11:09 PM in reply to: m4t3u5LP

Hi Mat and welcome to the forums

 

With regards to your seat count enquiry, it would depend on the type of license you own in the first place. 

 

If you own a commercial license you may install it on 2 machines (one desktop and one laptop).

 

However if you own a student license, you will only be allowed to install it on one machine at any point in time. Tol transfer your student license between machines, you may use the online license transfer utility as seen here.

 

Should you require further clartification, please drop me a personal message (Click on my muhammad.farhan.abdul.manan profile name and then send this user a private message) with the following details:

Serial number(s)
Request code / Host Name & Host ID
Company name (if license is registered to an organization)

or contact our License Assistance team for direct support.



Muhammad Farhan Abdul Manan

New Member
m4t3u5LP
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2013
Message 3 of 3 (180 Views)

Re: Using autoCAD on different computers

12-09-2013 04:53 PM in reply to: muhammad.farhan.abdul.manan
Thank you so much! This really helped.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.