Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
estauss
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 1 of 33 (245 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to start license manager

245 Views, 32 Replies
07-05-2013 02:17 PM

Hello,

 

We are trying to move our 3ds max license from a Win2k3 server to a Win2k8.

 

I have a new license file from Autodesk and have the network license manager installed on the server and is configured.

 

However when I try to start the server it fails and when I do a server status I get the following error:

 

--------

Status

--------

Flexible License Manager status on Fri 7/5/2013 16:03

 

[Detecting lmgrd processes...]

License server status: @flex2.aero.und.edu    

License file(s) on flex2.aero.und.edu: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\3DSMAX7flex2.aero.und.edu.lic:

 

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server

 The server (lmgrd) has not been started yet, or

 the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the

 port or hostname in the license file has been changed.

Server name:   flex2.aero.und.edu

License path:  @flex2.aero.und.edu

FLEXlm error:  -15,570 For further information, refer to the FLEXlm End User Manual, available at "www.macrovision.com".

 

I have checked and everything is the same as it is on our 2k3 server.

 

Any help would be appreaciated.

 

Thanks

 

Eric

Just to follow up, what we did was put the 64-bit version of the FlexLM on your Server2008 R2 in the 11.7 version.  I have found that for some reason, it just works better on that server.  Good luck with your options file and other license manager vendors.  If you need anything else, just give us a holler.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,446
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 33 (239 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-05-2013 03:02 PM in reply to: estauss

Make sure your License file matches the hostname and the ethernet MAC address.  Then see my IPv6 fix here:


http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

Contributor
estauss
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 3 of 33 (202 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hello,

 

Thanks for the quick response.

 

I have checked the the license file is correct for the hostname and the mac address. Also, IPV6 is off and has always been off.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,446
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 33 (193 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: estauss

IPv6 being off does not prevent the localhost loopback from being ::1.  You might PING the server from itself by hostname and verify you are getting a valid IPv4 or 127.0.0.1 response rather than the ::1.

 

Contributor
estauss
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 5 of 33 (187 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the reply.

 

When I did ping the host name flex2 I got a IPv6 address, when I ping the fully qualified name I get an IPv4 address.

 

However I changed the host file on the server so that I get an IPv4 address when I ping and it still does not work. the lmgrd will not start, I get the same error:

 

--------
Status
--------
Flexible License Manager status on Mon 7/8/2013 11:13

 

[Detecting lmgrd processes...]
License server status: @flex2.aero.und.edu
License file(s) on flex2.aero.und.edu: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\3DSMAX7flex2.aero.und.edu.lic:

 

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server
The server (lmgrd) has not been started yet, or
the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the
port or hostname in the license file has been changed.
Server name: flex2.aero.und.edu
License path: @flex2.aero.und.edu
FLEXlm error: -15,570
For further information, refer to the FLEXlm End User Manual,
available at "www.macrovision.com".

 

 

When I try to start the server from the Start/Stop/Reread tab it says:

Server Start Faild. The Server May Already Be Running!!

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,446
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 33 (183 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: estauss

After you have changed the hosts so that both the host and FQDN both ping IPv4, you might need to kill the processes for adskflex.exe and any lmgrd.exe that are running in Task Manager > Processes.  Then restart the LMTOOLS service from Start/Stop/Reread.

 

What is your OS and FlexLM version?

Contributor
estauss
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 7 of 33 (176 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 11:43 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi Travis,

 

Rebooted the server and still get the same error.

 

Server OS is Win2k8R2 and LMTOOLS is the one that came with the install of 3dsMax 7: Version 9.22.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,465
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 33 (173 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: estauss

 


estauss wrote:

 

 

Server OS is Win2k8R2 and LMTOOLS is the one that came with the install of 3dsMax 7: Version 9.22.

 

 



that maybe why this version of flex lm may not be compatible with server 2008 r2

Contributor
estauss
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
Message 9 of 33 (169 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: DarrenP

I downloaded version 11.11.1.1 the 64bit, and I still get the same error.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,465
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 33 (167 Views)

Re: Unable to start license manager

07-08-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: estauss

you can try allowing these ports through your firewall

The FLEXlm® based version uses the following ports:
TCP ports 2080 (for the adskflex vendor daemon)
TCP ports 27000 to 27009 (for the lmgrd master daemon)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.