Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
oldshackdesign
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 4 (593 Views)

Unable to launch AutoCAD application after hardware change

593 Views, 3 Replies
06-03-2013 09:57 AM

Hello, I have the same problem described above. My laptop screen broke, so my hard drive with my original installation was put into a desktop machine. I've repaired, reinstalled, uninstalled, and reintalled three times now - still no luck. I can't reactivate my license because the software crashes (without an error message) before going to the activation screen. How do i solve this probelm?

 

Thanks, Mary

 

Thanks
Discussion_Admin

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (584 Views)

Re: Unable to launch AutoCAD application after hardware change

06-03-2013 11:04 AM in reply to: oldshackdesign

oldshackdesign wrote:

Hello, I have the same problem described above. My laptop screen broke, so my hard drive with my original installation was put into a desktop machine. I've repaired, reinstalled, uninstalled, and reintalled three times now - still no luck. I can't reactivate my license because the software crashes (without an error message) before going to the activation screen. How do i solve this probelm?

 

Thanks, Mary


Uninstall, then do a complete wipe of all Autodesk software off the machine as described in the KB article here:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240697

 

Then reinstall.

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,358
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 3 of 4 (576 Views)

Re: Unable to launch AutoCAD application after hardware change

06-03-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

The nuclear option posted by RK may be your best bet due to the hardware changes, but you may also try resetting the license manager.  The fix below solved my issue where AutoCAD would flash the splash screen, then immediately close with no error messages.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15890817&linkID=9240617

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (571 Views)

Re: Unable to launch AutoCAD application after hardware change

06-03-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: nestly2

nestly2 wrote:

The nuclear option posted by RK may be your best bet due to the hardware changes, but you may also try resetting the license manager.  The fix below solved my issue where AutoCAD would flash the splash screen, then immediately close with no error messages.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15890817&linkID=9240617


Good idea. Hopefully the OP will post back letting us know if that worked!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.