Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
pscheu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
Message 1 of 34 (8,321 Views)

Unable to Install ACAD 2012

8321 Views, 33 Replies
03-30-2011 10:11 AM

As I attempt to install a stand alone copy of ACAD 2012 for 64 bit on a single machine from the DVD disc, I get an "Internal Error 2723" message at "step 5 of 7" and the installation aborts. I do get past entering the serial number and product key, so that's not an issue. Running Vista Business 64 bit SP2. I've attached the Setup log for reference. Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 34 (8,317 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-30-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: pscheu

Copy the disc to your hard drive and install from there and see if you get the same error. 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,470
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 34 (8,316 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-30-2011 10:18 AM in reply to: pscheu
Active Member
pscheu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
Message 4 of 34 (8,306 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-30-2011 11:24 AM in reply to: pscheu

Thanks TravisNave and DarrenP. Unfortunately I tried both (installing .NET 4 first then trying the installation from the hard drive), but got the same result (Internal Error 2738). Pretty frustrating.

Valued Mentor
frhervet
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 5 of 34 (8,273 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 02:25 AM in reply to: pscheu

Hi,

 

see this :

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?linkID=9243099&id=7289987&siteID=123112

 

Franck Hervet

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
S'il vous plaît Marquer cette réponse comme "Accepter comme solution" si elle répond à votre question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
pscheu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
Message 6 of 34 (8,270 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 03:01 AM in reply to: pscheu

Thanks. The page you directed me to is for Revit, and the link from there to the Windows Script is for Windows XP. My issue is with AutoCAD 2012 with Vista Business 64 Bit. I tried the propsed solution anyway, but it the script would not load - I assume beause the OS is different.

 

BTW - Autodesk'sSubscrition Support suggested I perform a clean install per http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS75218 with most Windows services turned off (essentially in Vista's equivalent of "Safe Mode"), and that didn't work either. In fact, during the clean install, a Windows dialog box came up indicating that there was a file was in use and should be closed. That “file” was Windows Explorer, which I assume is a pretty basic service. I tried both options presented by the dialog box – close the file and continue, or not closing the file where a reboot would have been required. The result was the same in both cases – “Error 2738” occurred, and the installation aborted at “Step 5 of 7”.

 

Grrrrrrr.....

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 34 (8,250 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 07:48 AM in reply to: pscheu

Maybe you have a bad disc?  Could try the download version and see if it is any different with the results. 

New Member
FranzPlötzl8918
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Message 8 of 34 (8,236 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 11:53 AM in reply to: pscheu

we also can not install autocad architekt 2012 win7x64 - error 2738.

we also tried to install the net4framwork before installing acad - same error.

on an second computer - win7x64 - the same problems.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 34 (8,230 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 01:12 PM in reply to: FranzPlötzl8918

Then the problem is specific to the configuration of that machine.

 

This error 2738 indicates a custom action is trying to run on a system, but that it is unable to execute script code. For one reason or another the scripting service is not running correctly and thus the install is failing. To possibly resolve this, download and install the latest Windows Scripting Host release available at MSDN online.

 

Active Member
pscheu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
Message 10 of 34 (8,224 Views)

Re: Unable to Install ACAD 2012

03-31-2011 01:24 PM in reply to: pscheu

Thanks, TravisNave. Tried that, and it didn't work either. Still haven't heard back from AutoDesk...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.