Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
lilkitkat80
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
Message 1 of 6 (2,938 Views)
Accepted Solution

Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me.

2938 Views, 5 Replies
04-29-2013 02:43 PM

I was having trouble installing all of the Autodesk programs on the flash drive.  They all failed installation, except Revit left an icon that didn't do anything.

I looked at the requirements and realized I needed the latest version of Internet Explorer.  So I installed that, and then reinstalled several of my most used AutoDesk programs, and they all worked, exept Revit.

I went through the add/remove programs box, the registry, and the program files folder and deleted everything with Revit 2014.  Restarted the computer many times.  But the setup.exe dialog box still says it's on my computer and won't let me reinstall or repair it.  What else can I do??

Thanks!

Fixed it!  I found an Uninstall Tool in the AutoDesk folder in the Start Menu.  I used that and it cleared Revit so I could install it again. :catvery-happy:

Contributor
lilkitkat80
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
Message 2 of 6 (2,910 Views)

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

04-30-2013 09:11 AM in reply to: lilkitkat80

Fixed it!  I found an Uninstall Tool in the AutoDesk folder in the Start Menu.  I used that and it cleared Revit so I could install it again. :catvery-happy:

Member
renny_chan22
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
Message 3 of 6 (1,747 Views)

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

10-31-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: lilkitkat80

THANK GOD YOU FOUND THE SOLUTION YOURSELF and now I faced the same problem and you saved my life !

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,611
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,730 Views)

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

10-31-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: renny_chan22

I wanted to add that we also recommend running Microsoft Fix-it if you happen to find yourself in a situation where Windows will not let you install as the OS thinks the software is already present.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
giff
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
Message 5 of 6 (1,475 Views)

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

12-12-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: lilkitkat80
You just saved my computer from being thrown through the window. I wish I read this 2 hours ago.
New Member
lyang1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
Message 6 of 6 (1,461 Views)

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

12-12-2013 08:21 PM in reply to: lilkitkat80
OMG, YOU SAVED MY LIFE, THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!! I ALMOST REINSTALLED MY WHOLE SYSTEM...
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.