Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
16 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me.

3240 Views, 6 Replies
04-29-2013 02:43 PM

I was having trouble installing all of the Autodesk programs on the flash drive.  They all failed installation, except Revit left an icon that didn't do anything.

I looked at the requirements and realized I needed the latest version of Internet Explorer.  So I installed that, and then reinstalled several of my most used AutoDesk programs, and they all worked, exept Revit.

I went through the add/remove programs box, the registry, and the program files folder and deleted everything with Revit 2014.  Restarted the computer many times.  But the setup.exe dialog box still says it's on my computer and won't let me reinstall or repair it.  What else can I do??

Thanks!

Fixed it!  I found an Uninstall Tool in the AutoDesk folder in the Start Menu.  I used that and it cleared Revit so I could install it again. :catvery-happy:

Contributor
16 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
Post 2 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

04-30-2013 09:11 AM in reply to: lilkitkat80

Fixed it!  I found an Uninstall Tool in the AutoDesk folder in the Start Menu.  I used that and it cleared Revit so I could install it again. :catvery-happy:

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
Post 3 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

10-31-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: lilkitkat80

THANK GOD YOU FOUND THE SOLUTION YOURSELF and now I faced the same problem and you saved my life !

Community Manager
2,738 Posts
283 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Post 4 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

10-31-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: renny_chan22

I wanted to add that we also recommend running Microsoft Fix-it if you happen to find yourself in a situation where Windows will not let you install as the OS thinks the software is already present.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
Post 5 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

12-12-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: lilkitkat80
You just saved my computer from being thrown through the window. I wish I read this 2 hours ago.
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
Post 6 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

12-12-2013 08:21 PM in reply to: lilkitkat80
OMG, YOU SAVED MY LIFE, THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!! I ALMOST REINSTALLED MY WHOLE SYSTEM...
Active Member
7 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-14-2008
Post 7 of 7

Re: Trying to reinstall Revit 2014, says it's already installed and won't let me

10-30-2014 01:54 PM in reply to: lilkitkat80
Thanks so much for posting the answer. I ran into thsi today and you ahve given me the direction to go.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!