Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
rhavimarques
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2013
Message 1 of 5 (298 Views)

trying to install on separate partition!

298 Views, 4 Replies
09-05-2013 04:28 PM

i run my windows on a small SSD, about 60gb.
however, i'm trying to install Revit and Autocad, but revit says it requires 40gb of space on C:?!
i understand some files need to be on the boot drive, but 40gb? is there any way to tell it to install somewhere else? i tried to set the path file on the bottom of the installer to D: and it said it would only need 1gb on D: and still need 40gb on C:
why is this?

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,489
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 5 (274 Views)

Re: trying to install on separate partition!

09-06-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: rhavimarques

 I would also delete the files in the TEMP folder.  Start > Search > Type:

 

%temp%

 

Select all and delete.


Then you should set your TEMP folder to the other drive.  Please check out this post for setting TEMP location:

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/10/autocad-installation-error-entrypoint-streamoutfn...

 

You will notice that default is %USERPROFILE% which is on the C:\ drive. 

 



David Lau
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 5 (269 Views)

Re: trying to install on separate partition!

09-06-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: rhavimarques

Please understand that some parts of the installation files are necessary to be installed on the root system drive. Shortcuts, registry settings, and profile customizations are all examples of this. However, you may be able to make some system changes that will allow you to install your Autodesk product and avoid this error. Please review my KB article for more information:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Out-of-disk-space-during-installation-to-anothe...

Good Luck!

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 4 of 5 (264 Views)

Re: trying to install on separate partition!

09-06-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: rhavimarques

 

With Revit, also make sure you configure the install and change the install location of the Content to your second drive.

See this previous post.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Can-t-Install-on-a-non-bootable-Hard-drive/m-p/...

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 5 of 5 (258 Views)

Re: trying to install on separate partition!

09-06-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: rhavimarques

rhavimarques,

 

Hello. A 60 Gig SSD is really only sized for an OS and maybe one or two smaller programs. The programs need to extract data and then install, which is why you are running into a special concern. Should be a really fast system though, and you should see benefits to your daily working.

 

Installing on a different drive is the best option and should be available from the installer. The only time this may be a problem is if you were to try to break up a suite installation and try to place one program on the SSD and one on the other drive. This would not work.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 



David Dembkoski
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.