Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
giorgiofrighi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
Message 1 of 6 (205 Views)

trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

205 Views, 5 Replies
09-09-2013 07:15 AM

Hi from Italy, this is my first message! sorry for my english...

I have to change some winxp workstations in my office; I've installed autocad LT 2010 on a new window 7 pc. 

Launching the application, i receive the message "the application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail or use the sxstrace command for further information".

I've already removed and re-installed microsoft visual c++ package.

Some other details:

Software: Autocad LT2010 vers. 18.0.55.0

Pc: windows 7 pro 64 bit SP1, 4GB ram, video card Nvidia GE force GT630

Anybody can help me?

thanks in advance

Giorgio Frighi

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,283
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

09-09-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: giorgiofrighi

Typically, this is a .NET Framework issue.  You might consider the .NET Framework cleanup utility. 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/NET-Framework-Cleanup-Tool-for-Unhandled-Except...

But first, have you at least tried updating AutoCAD LT to the latest service pack 2?

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15073321&linkID=9240818

 

Good Luck!

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 3 of 6 (187 Views)

Re: trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

09-09-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: giorgiofrighi

giorgiofrighi,

 

Hello. Did you uninstall ALL the Microsoft C++ entries? Most machines have multiples. I would uninstall the program and then all C++ and then uninstall the NET on the system and then try to install the program. It should install the C++ versions it is in need of.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14095878&linkID=9241177

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski
Member
giorgiofrighi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
Message 4 of 6 (164 Views)

Re: trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

09-10-2013 05:31 AM in reply to: giorgiofrighi

Hello. Thanks for you support.

I've tried all the suggestions: removed and re-installed C++ entries, .NET entry (also using cleanup utility) and updated autocad LT to SP2... but still have the problem.

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 5 of 6 (150 Views)

Re: trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

09-10-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: giorgiofrighi

giorgiofrighi,

 

Hello. Sounds like a really messy install. Plus, Autocad LT 2010 was not built for Win 7.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15460215&linkID=9240817#section12

The fastest solution is to reinstall the OS, run all the system updates and then install. This is the quickest guarantee of a clean slate. If you are failing after this it usually means a hardware problem for a user. Nothing I see here makes me think you are having a hardware issue of any sort- you are likely dealing with leftover registry keys and such.

 

If you aren’t ready to format and start over, I would try this:

-Uninstall ALL Autodesk Software

-Run the MS fixit utility to uninstall any remaining Autodesk software that the tool can still see:

            http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall\

-Delete any Remaining Autodesk folders:

            C:\Program Files\Autodesk\

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\

C:\Users\All Users\

C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\

C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Local\Autodesk\

-Delete the tsf.data files. They will resemble this ADSKFLEX_NUMBERS_TSF.data

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet

-Delete the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\ folder

-Delete the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\ folder

-Uninstall the C++ entries

-Uninstall NET framework

-Reboot the machine

-Install the programs and test.

 

This is about as much as I would try before a reformat.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski
Member
giorgiofrighi
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
Message 6 of 6 (115 Views)

Re: trouble with autocad LT 2010 and windows 7

09-20-2013 06:45 AM in reply to: giorgiofrighi

Hello, sorry for the delay, i've had to do some other jobs.

I don't want to format and reinstall, so I tried the other ways you suggest, but still have the same message.

I think I will soon give up and install it in xp mode...

anyway, thank you very much

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.