Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
gamechanger
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
Message 1 of 7 (781 Views)
Accepted Solution

Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

781 Views, 6 Replies
10-26-2012 09:46 PM

I am trying to install Inventor 2012 but it keeps saying I don't have enough disk space. I've tried to install it on two different machines both with at least 30gb of space on each hard drive and it keeps saying I only have 5gb available. PLEASE HELP.....I need to use it badly as I have a very important meeting coming up where I need this to present my idea.

Thanks in advance

I apologize for the late response guys but i've been hard at work and study since I figured out..lol. The issue was so stupid on my part that I almost didn't want to post it.

 

When I was changing my paging file size, I wasn't changing the intial size I was only changing the maximum size so it never changed the size of the paging file. This was all do to the path I chose to download the program to. If I had simply chose the C: drive as directed, I wouldn't have had those issues.

 

Sorry, not so complicated, just stupid on my part. :-/

 

 

 

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 2 of 7 (717 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-01-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: gamechanger

gamechanger,

Hello. The installer is asking for more space so there is something on your machine that is causing this. Have you cleared out your Temp files and emptied your Recycle bin?

Run a disk cleanup to get enough free space. If the program says you will need 5 gig of space, I would double this expected value to compensate for temp files.

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

 



David Dembkoski
Member
gamechanger
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
Message 3 of 7 (713 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-01-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: dembkod

Thanks for responding, I was starting to think that no one could answer this question. I have done all of those things you suggested and even expanded my pagefile to 13gb. My hard drive has 30gb free. The dialog box actually says its only detecting 5gb but it needs 7.8gb of space to install. I'm trying to figure out what or where is it detecting only 5gb of space. What is the installer accessing for this 5gb

Thanks in advance

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 575
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 7 (708 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-01-2012 10:51 AM in reply to: gamechanger

gamechanger,

Hello. How are you installing? Is this a deployment or a straight installation?

If you open the install folders, there is a folder called 3rd party. IN this folder you will find a stack of requisites that need to be installed. Can you manually try to install as many of these as you can and then run the install. I am wondering if taking care of the requisites first may help.

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Member
gamechanger
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
Message 5 of 7 (702 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-01-2012 02:48 PM in reply to: gamechanger

I figured out.

Thanks

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,627
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 6 of 7 (696 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-01-2012 03:37 PM in reply to: gamechanger

Hi Paul,

 

If you get a chance, would you mind posting the solution so that others can potentially benefit from the resolution.

 

Thanks for using the forums!



Philip Schmelzer
Member
gamechanger
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
Message 7 of 7 (673 Views)

Re: Trouble installing Inventor 2012, not enough disk space

11-04-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: philip.s

I apologize for the late response guys but i've been hard at work and study since I figured out..lol. The issue was so stupid on my part that I almost didn't want to post it.

 

When I was changing my paging file size, I wasn't changing the intial size I was only changing the maximum size so it never changed the size of the paging file. This was all do to the path I chose to download the program to. If I had simply chose the C: drive as directed, I wouldn't have had those issues.

 

Sorry, not so complicated, just stupid on my part. :-/

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.