Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
johng0619
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 1 of 5 (914 Views)

Transferring Maya Student License to a new computer

914 Views, 4 Replies
03-13-2013 05:49 AM

Hi.  I just purchased a new Mac.  I had the Maya 2013 student license on my old Mac.  I did a software migration upon setup of the new Mac.  However, when I attempted to open it on the new Mac a licensing error popped up.  I went back to the Autodesk site to redownload and it downloaded successfully.  However, when I opened the software there was an "Activate" button.  When I clicked that, it automatically forwarded me to an email request to Autodesk.  Just want to make sure this request gets expedited and I have Maya up and running on the new machine soon as I need it for school.  Any help would be much appreicated.  The Activation request was sent from johng0619@yahoo.com

 

Thank you,

John

 

Community Manager
camilo.lemos
Posts: 1,223
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 2 of 5 (903 Views)

Re: Transferring Maya Student License to a new computer

03-13-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: johng0619

Hi johng0619 and welcome to the forums.

 

I've just checked and it looks liek we have not received an activation request from the e-mail address you mentioned. When you say you did a software migration, do you mean you used the Autodesk License Transfer Utility to pass your license from one Mac to another? What did the error message read on your first attempt to use the program on your new computer?

 

Could you send me you serial number via Private Message (click on my screenname camilo.lemos and then on Send Private Message)?

 

Thank you!



Camilo Lemos
New Member
johng0619
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
Message 3 of 5 (897 Views)

Re: Transferring Maya Student License to a new computer

03-13-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: camilo.lemos

Hi Camilo.  Thanks for your reply!

 

I sent the email request from the mail app on my Mac this morning around 615AM ET.  But when I go into my sent mail on my iPhone, it isn't showing the email being sent.  I'm going to have to retry to send the request when I get home from work today. .  How late will you be in the office today?  I will be home around 530PM eastern tiime.

 

I'll send you the serial number via private message now.

 

Thanks again for your help on this!

 

John

New Member
caitymag
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 4 of 5 (845 Views)

Re: Transferring Maya Student License to a new computer

04-09-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: johng0619

Hi there,

 

I'm having the same issue with activating my preexisting educational Maya license, but I dual booted my Mac via Bootcamp and I need to use my educational license to work on the Windows side so that I can seamlessly work between Maya and Motion Builder. Please help! I can send an email shortly.

 

Thanks. 

 

Caitlin

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,669
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 5 (835 Views)

Re: Transferring Maya Student License to a new computer

04-09-2013 04:55 PM in reply to: caitymag

caitymag wrote:

 

I dual booted my Mac via Bootcamp and I need to use my educational license to work on the Windows side so that I can seamlessly work between Maya and Motion Builder. Please help! I can send an email shortly.


Hi Caitlin!

 

Do you mean that you are running Maya on both the Mac and Windows partitions? Per the LSA and site terms (taken from the Education Community Serial Number FAQ):

 

"You shall not install more than one copy of any release version of any Software product obtained on this site on more than one system at a time. For example, a faculty member has a desktop computer at home and a laptop computer she uses at work. That faculty member could not install a copy of AutoCAD 2013 on both the desktop and laptop systems simultaneously. She could, however, install AutoCAD 2012 on the desktop system and AutoCAD 2013 on the laptop system simultaneously."

 

For activation assistance, as you have already reached the limit, please contact our License Assistance Team providing your serial number and request code to receive an activation code.



Philip Schmelzer
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.