Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
femcadder
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 1 of 6 (146 Views)

token rings?

146 Views, 5 Replies
02-20-2001 10:59 PM
If we were to switch to Inventor, would we have any issues running it off the network that runs off a series of token rings (or issues with any 3D package)? Some suggest running completely off local hard drives and up and downloading from the server once a day. Or something along those lines. I am trying to be unbiased in my question. Any thoughts? Megan
*martin, jason
Message 2 of 6 (146 Views)

Re: token rings?

02-20-2001 11:35 PM in reply to: femcadder
This is a bit of an unusual question, but a good one.

It shouldn't matter what type of network you use as long as your connectivity is good.
I'm not familiar with inventor (at all) but as long as your network connectivity is good,
and as long as it complies with MS's standards there shouldn't be any problems.

I don't recommend copying all the files to a local drive and working on them, and copying
them back up. That is just asking for people's work to be overwritten. If two people
happen to be working on the same file (I know that shouldn't ever happen, but it will)
then the only one who's file gets saved is the last one to "upload" to the network.

Just make sure you don't lose any token's, they're hard to catch if they get out of the
ring.

Not that it matters, I'm just curious Why are you running a token ring?

hth

jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

"femcadder" wrote in message news:f02c172.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
If we were to switch to Inventor, would we have any issues running it off the network that
runs off a series of token rings (or issues with any 3D package)? Some suggest running
completely off local hard drives and up and downloading from the server once a day. Or
something along those lines. I am trying to be unbiased in my question. Any thoughts?
Megan
Distinguished Contributor
femcadder
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 3 of 6 (146 Views)

Re:

02-21-2001 12:03 AM in reply to: femcadder
Why a token ring? That is what I keep asking!!! They went from an ethernet to a token ring. I *think* they knew more about token rings then ethernets so when they started having problems they switched to what they knew. My thoughts. I have been trying to open the upper management up to the better ways of ethernet and NOT working off the local. Thanks for your imput! I told them it will cause problems, now when it does I will sit back and say, remember when I said that???? Cuz you know it will happen no matter what precautions are taken!! Thanks Megan .
*milana, jerry
Message 4 of 6 (146 Views)

Re: token rings?

02-26-2001 03:34 AM in reply to: femcadder
Token Ring should not cause a file sharing issue
but could cause a problem if you are using Network License management which is
only supported on license servers using Ethernet.  While it seems to work
for many, some token ring cards will not work with the license manager.  In
that case, you would need to create an Ethernet segment to include at least a
system to run AdLM and a system with both types of cards which would route
license traffic to the adlm server.  Keep in mind that the AdLM server must
only have one network adapter.  Clients on token ring should be
fine.

 

jerry milana,

Autodesk Product Support


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
If
we were to switch to Inventor, would we have any issues running it off the
network that runs off a series of token rings (or issues with any 3D package)?
Some suggest running completely off local hard drives and up and downloading
from the server once a day. Or something along those lines. I am trying to be
unbiased in my question. Any thoughts? Megan
Distinguished Contributor
femcadder
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 5 of 6 (146 Views)

Re:

02-26-2001 04:53 AM in reply to: femcadder
Jerry,
Thanks. My concern is the size of files of big assemblies. We run A2K now and a different 3D software. The 3D is terribly slow off the network. I am wondering if you have seen anything like this cuz of token rings, or if it doesn't seem to matter. (I imagine you don't have many customers running rings anyway). Thanks Megan ...
*milana, jerry
Message 6 of 6 (146 Views)

Re:

02-26-2001 06:28 AM in reply to: femcadder
Megan,

 

I doubt token ring is contributing to the
performance problem.  From what I have seen, token ring holds up quite well
under heavy load.  How does AutoCAD perform?

 

jerry

 

 



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">Jerry,

Thanks. My concern is the size of files of big assemblies. We run A2K now
and a different 3D software. The 3D is terribly slow off the network. I am
wondering if you have seen anything like this cuz of token rings, or if it
doesn't seem to matter. (I imagine you don't have many customers running rings
anyway). Thanks Megan ...
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.