Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
jwasynch
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 1 of 5 (785 Views)
Accepted Solution

The License Server returned a networking error

785 Views, 4 Replies
09-26-2013 12:19 PM

Greetings, I'm trying to setup the Autodesk Network License Manager for our UX team.  I followed the installation instructions and everything seems to be running just fine. Process adskflex is listening on port 2080 and lmgrd is listening on 27000:

 

[root@ga-autodesknlm ~]# netstat -tanp
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address               Foreign Address             State       PID/Program name   
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:2080                0.0.0.0:*                   LISTEN      10447/adskflex      
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:27000               0.0.0.0:*                   LISTEN      10444/lmgrd         
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:36931             127.0.0.1:58396             ESTABLISHED 10447/adskflex      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:58396             127.0.0.1:36931             ESTABLISHED 10447/adskflex      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:27000             127.0.0.1:32963             ESTABLISHED 10444/lmgrd         
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:32963             127.0.0.1:27000             ESTABLISHED 10447/adskflex      

 

Here's the output of the log during startup:

 

13:45:02 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   Please Note:
13:45:02 (lmgrd) 
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   This log is intended for debug purposes only.
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   In order to capture accurate license
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   usage data into an organized repository,
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   please enable report logging. Use Flexera Software LLC's
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   software license administration  solution,
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   FlexNet Manager, to  readily gain visibility
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   into license usage data and to create
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   insightful reports on critical information like
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   license availability and usage. FlexNet Manager
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   can be fully automated to run these reports on
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   schedule and can be used to track license
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   servers and usage across a heterogeneous
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   network of servers including Windows NT, Linux
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   and UNIX. Contact Flexera Software LLC at
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   www.flexerasoftware.com for more details on how to
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   obtain an evaluation copy of FlexNet Manager
13:45:02 (lmgrd)   for your enterprise.
13:45:02 (lmgrd) 
13:45:02 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
13:45:02 (lmgrd) 
13:45:02 (lmgrd) 
13:45:02 (lmgrd) FlexNet Licensing (v11.11.0.2 build 115032 x64_lsb) started on ga-autodesknlm.domain.com (linux) (9/26/2013)
13:45:02 (lmgrd) Copyright (c) 1988-2012 Flexera Software LLC. All Rights Reserved.
13:45:02 (lmgrd) World Wide Web:  http://www.flexerasoftware.com
13:45:02 (lmgrd) License file(s): /opt/flexnetserver/autodesk.lic
13:45:02 (lmgrd) lmgrd tcp-port 27000
13:45:02 (lmgrd) Starting vendor daemons ... 
13:45:02 (lmgrd) Using vendor daemon port 2080 specified in license file
13:45:02 (adskflex) Unable to initialize access to trusted storage: 2
13:45:02 (adskflex) FlexNet Licensing version v11.11.0.2 build 115032 x64_lsb
13:45:02 (adskflex) Server started on ga-autodesknlm.domain.com for:	699003DSMAX_2010_0F 
13:45:02 (adskflex) EXTERNAL FILTERS are OFF
13:45:02 (lmgrd) Started adskflex (internet tcp_port 2080 pid 10488)
13:45:02 (lmgrd) adskflex using TCP-port 2080

 And finally on the client machine (which has 3ds Max preinstalled - license server was running locally/license file) when putting in the hostname to connect, it returns the following:

 

autodesk_nlm_error

 

 

A tcpdump from the server shows that all the client is doing is sending a ping request, receiving a response of the request and then throwing the above error:

 

[root@ga-autodesknlm ~]# tcpdump -nn -i any host 192.168.3.229
tcpdump: WARNING: Promiscuous mode not supported on the "any" device
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on any, link-type LINUX_SLL (Linux cooked), capture size 96 bytes
13:33:18.380477 IP 192.168.3.229 > 192.168.226.64: ICMP echo request, id 1, seq 21, length 40
13:33:18.380563 IP 192.168.226.64 > 192.168.3.229: ICMP echo reply, id 1, seq 21, length 40

 The two network segments are wide open and nothing is blocking it. Ran a wireshark on the client machine and it as well only showed the ping request and response. 

 

Server is running on CentOS 5.9 if that matters.

 

Please help!

 

Thank you,

 

Jonathan

I am going to use a Windows playbook, check out step 6 in this blog post:

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/11/quick-start-setting-up-a-license-server.html

 

Also, check the firewall settings on Windows to linux by checking out step 4 within above post.  If everything is done correctly, that finder window to look for the license server shouldn't even come up.

 

 

Refererence

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/07/quick-start-setting-up-a-licensing-server-on-linux.html

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,365
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 5 (778 Views)

Re: The License Server returned a networking error

09-26-2013 12:26 PM in reply to: jwasynch

If client (3DS Max) is on WIndows and Server is linux, we always use the IP address of the LINUX server.  I also noticed that the servername in log file is 'domain' but input file is 'something' else.



David Lau
Member
jwasynch
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 3 of 5 (765 Views)

Re: The License Server returned a networking error

09-26-2013 01:30 PM in reply to: david.lau
David,

I tried using the IP instead of hostname and got the same results. The discrepancy of the domain is just due to me protecting system identity, everything is matching.
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,365
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 5 (759 Views)

Re: The License Server returned a networking error

09-26-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: jwasynch

I am going to use a Windows playbook, check out step 6 in this blog post:

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/11/quick-start-setting-up-a-license-server.html

 

Also, check the firewall settings on Windows to linux by checking out step 4 within above post.  If everything is done correctly, that finder window to look for the license server shouldn't even come up.

 

 

Refererence

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/07/quick-start-setting-up-a-licensing-server-on-linu...



David Lau
Member
jwasynch
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 5 of 5 (750 Views)

Re: The License Server returned a networking error

09-26-2013 02:18 PM in reply to: david.lau
Success! The LICPATH.LIC file still had the local (client) machine as the host for the license server. Switched that to the new server and everything is working. Thanks so much for your help!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.