Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
josephbouza5497
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 1 of 5 (207 Views)

Switch from stand alone to Single License Server

207 Views, 4 Replies
01-18-2012 09:48 AM

Hi,

We had a small dilemma. We did a MEP install from the media and inadvertently selected stand alone for the license. The problem is IT use that machine to create and Image for 20 other work stations. Is there a way to change to Single License Server without installing and reinstalling. I have since created a deployment on the server for the future. Can this be used somehow? I tried going to control  panel and modifying the local install, I expected it to ask for media/ have disk and point to the deployment, but it never ask. How did it reinstall without media?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,617
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (206 Views)

Re: Switch from stand alone to Single License Server

01-18-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: josephbouza5497

Unfortunately no.  You will have to reinstall.  If you created a deployment as a stand-alone deployment instead of a network deployment, then you will have to also recreate the deployment because reinstalling from that deployment will also be futile.  Sorry about that.  :smileysad:

Distinguished Contributor
josephbouza5497
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 3 of 5 (193 Views)

Re: Switch from stand alone to Single License Server

01-18-2012 02:42 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks Travis

 

It will not be so bad after all. MEP unistalls and reinstalls much faster than civil3d. And thanks, I did redo the deployment for single serve license

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,617
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 5 (191 Views)

Re: Switch from stand alone to Single License Server

01-18-2012 02:47 PM in reply to: josephbouza5497

Then you should be all set.  If you run into any issues, let me know. 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,124
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (185 Views)

Re: Switch from stand alone to Single License Server

01-19-2012 05:02 AM in reply to: josephbouza5497

thanks

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!