Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 1 of 7 (444 Views)
Accepted Solution

Suppliers Serial Number invalid

444 Views, 6 Replies
06-21-2013 07:35 AM

Hello - I have a client that is having issues licensing his Civil 3D seats.

It says that the Suppliers Serial Number is invalid.

Which if you think about it - we are getting it from Autodesk...

I have confirmed the serial numbers with Autodesk and they are correct 

 

So the software is installed - it is just licensing it.

 

Anyone have this issue? If so what did you do.

I will be heading to their office in about an hour. (I just got off the phone with them)

 

Thanks!

LD

 


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Well it turned out to be the product key!
They had the wrong one. Also the one listed with their serial number was wrong. Once we got the right one in - everything went perfect.
Wow... That was interesting.
Thanks for your help!
LD
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 7 (438 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-21-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

Typically, invalid serial numbers happen because a product was upgraded or cross-graded, or it was under Subscription that has lapsed.  In those instances, a previously installed and activated product won't install and activate again.  If the contract is still valid, or renewed, and it is and older version than the current 2014, then you can probably get a new prior use serial number request thru the Subscription center (or you as the Reseller can make this request.)

 

If you have looked up the serial number in the system and it is indeed valid, not upgraded, and under Subscription, then there should be no excuse for it not to work except for the fact that the activation system is being wonky.  In that case, you might just be able to call in an activation code. 

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 3 of 7 (430 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-21-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: LisaDrago
This is an upgrade from civil 3d to ids.
I have the correct 2014 numbers - but it is crashing when we put them in .

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 7 (426 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-21-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

I see.  It could be related to the 2014 Activation crash problem that has been popping up lately.  I have it in my sig line currently, but the KB on it is here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=21825687&linkID=12305695

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (422 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-21-2013 08:56 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

That is exactly what it sounds like it is doing!!!

My meeting got pushed back to 2 - So this will be the first thing I look for.

 

Thanks again!

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 6 of 7 (403 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-22-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: LisaDrago
Well it turned out to be the product key!
They had the wrong one. Also the one listed with their serial number was wrong. Once we got the right one in - everything went perfect.
Wow... That was interesting.
Thanks for your help!
LD

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (401 Views)

Re: Suppliers Serial Number invalid

06-22-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: LisaDrago
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.