Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
gledezma2012
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 1 of 14 (8,264 Views)
Accepted Solution

Subassembly Composer Install

8264 Views, 13 Replies
03-28-2012 01:38 PM

I tried to open my Subassembly Composer this morning and it gave me an error message that said, "Subassembly Composer encountered a severe error, and will exit now." I proceeded to unistall the program, restart my computer and install the program again. Once I opened the program again, it gave me the same error message.  Please help!  Thanks!

This problem was solved here by uninstalling Framework 4.5 and installing Framework 4.0.

 

I am now able to run both 2013 and 2014 version of the Subassebmly composer.

Product Support
klaus.schumann
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
Message 2 of 14 (8,240 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

03-30-2012 01:17 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

Hello,

 

Did you see any message during the installation of Subassembly Composer or did it go without trouble? You should check also the Installation log files to see if anything is reported in there.

 

Also make sure you are using a Windows account which has administrative priviledges when you install the tool.

 

Hope this helps.



Klaus Schumann
Active Member
gledezma2012
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 3 of 14 (8,220 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-02-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

Nicki,

There were no messages during installation, I did have administrative rights everytime I installed it, and I do not know where to find my "installation log files" so I haven't looked at those. Thanks!

 

Gabriel

Product Support
klaus.schumann
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
Message 4 of 14 (8,181 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-09-2012 04:54 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

Hi Gabriel,

 

The installation log file will be located in yout temp folder. Click on the Windows button, then Run and enter "%temp%" in the run dialog, then click OK. This should open the Windows Temp folder. In this folder look for a file named "Autodesk Subassembly Composer.log"

 

Failing any clue in this file, uninstall it again and do a clean install next time.

 

Remove all program folder that may have been left behind. By default it installs to: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Subassembly Composer 2012".

 

Remove also the following registry key after performing the Uninstall:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\AutodeskSubassemblyComposer2012

 

Hope this helps,

Nikki



Klaus Schumann
Active Member
gledezma2012
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
Message 5 of 14 (8,176 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-09-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

I did exactly what you said (eventhough I did not have anything for Subassembly Composer in my HKey... folder) and then reinstalled the program and it gave me the same message.  I also looked through my subassembly composer log file and I saw no indications of a fail in there (before or after the reinstall).   Thanks for your help but still nothing unfortunately

 

Gabe

Active Member
Squashua
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 6 of 14 (8,121 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-19-2012 03:09 PM in reply to: gledezma2012

I'm also running into the same issue. Tried all of the ideas above but nothing has worked so far.

Product Support
klaus.schumann
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎08-29-2007
Message 7 of 14 (8,117 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-20-2012 12:13 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

Hi Josh, we are still working with Gabriel on finding a solution to fix this issue. As soon as we have one I will post our findings in this thread.

 

Are you getting exactly the same message as Gabriel? If not, could you post a screenshot of what is appearing at your end?



Klaus Schumann
Active Member
Squashua
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 8 of 14 (8,108 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

04-20-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: klaus.schumann

Here is a screenshot of what I'm running into.  I also included some info on my system hopefully that helps a little.  I have also tried a system restore to a point before I installed the composer, installed again and still no go. Hope this helps. 

Valued Contributor
kcimos
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 9 of 14 (7,749 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

11-29-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

first time I used it was yesterday & everything was fine, opened the application many times as i keep trying to refine my subassembly.

 

I go to open it today & I get the severe error message.

 

Did anyone every find a solution to this problem?

Active Member
Squashua
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 10 of 14 (7,742 Views)

Re: Subassembly Composer Install

11-29-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: gledezma2012

I haven't had a problem since I upgraded to 2013.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.