Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
uchicago
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2013
Message 1 of 6 (126 Views)

software does not reconize the licensing server

126 Views, 5 Replies
06-11-2013 05:04 AM

– I loaded in the new license file and the license service is now running.

 

                       

 

However the software cannot find the license server when I start the applications….

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,458
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (119 Views)

Re: software does not reconize the licensing server

06-11-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: uchicago
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 3 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: software does not reconize the licensing server

06-11-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: uchicago

Disable the firewall on the server where the license manager is configured. Once its disabled, check to see if the application open. If the application opens, then you'll need to open ports 2080 and 27000-27009 for incomming.

 

Hope that help

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (106 Views)

Re: software does not reconize the licensing server

06-11-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: Darin.Green

Right.  You can test this with Internet Explorer:

 

http://fac-beast01:27000

http://fac-beast01:2080

 

Both should exhibit some jargon in IE if the ports are open.  If not, definitely firewall.  Also, try to PING fac-beast01 and make sure it responds with an IPv4 address and not the new IPv6 scheme. 

New Member
uchicago
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2013
Message 5 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: software does not reconize the licensing server

06-11-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: Darin.Green
Ok used your IE URL's and got back the below on both...

W?-60W?-60W?-60
W?-60W?-60W?-60

Tried to ping fac-beast01 and got the following reply....

[cid:image001.png@01CE668D.2206DCA0]


Scott Stocking, GISP
The University of Chicago
[FS logo]
5555 S. Ellis Avenue
Chicago, IL 60637
Office: 773.834.0523
Cell: 630.388.9083
t-9stock@uchicago.edu
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (99 Views)

Re: software does not reconize the licensing server

06-11-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: uchicago

The results of the IE are good.  The picture though did not come thru.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Test/How-to-take-a-screen-capture-and-upload-it/m-p/3467392

 

So we at least know it is not a firewall issue.  Could still be an IPv6 one.  Repost your screencap.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.