Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 11 of 23 (2,564 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

08-16-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: alex

Alex,

 

By updating the installer, Travis is probably refering to the Microsoft Installer. The Revit setup.exe will update the installer if needed, so I wouldn't worry to much about this one.

When installing and it appears to hang at the Preparing Content, this is because it is downloading content in the background and depending on the content you choose to install and your internet connection this can take a long time.

Make sure things like the Adobe Updater, AntiVirus updates and Windows Update aren't trying to install updates before starting the Revit install, if these aren't running you should be able to install without any problems.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
alex
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 12 of 23 (2,562 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

08-16-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: alex

when installing i will see adobe and windows update messages in the lower right corner. i disabled them and now my cpu shows 14-16% activity where before it showed 2-4% activity. maybe it is working now and i will wait it out.

thanks, alex

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,352
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 13 of 23 (2,555 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

08-16-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: alex

Sounds promising.  The Revit installer has known to take over 12 hours to complete in some instances, so have patience if it seems stuck.

Valued Contributor
alex
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 14 of 23 (2,462 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

10-12-2012 07:18 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Hi Danny, I recently went back to try and install revit (2013 student version) and per this thread unplugged my internet connection and it installed with no content. when it comes up there are no elevation views and no rte files.

I have tried diableing various things per instructions in this thread and did a file update install to put the content in.

the acad system service or process would show it working making disk writes but even after 2 days it would not finish.

I currently have the IDS premium subscription and do civil design work and would like to learn revit (outside my area of expertise) in my free time and eventually upgrade to IDS ultimate when i get it down and can produce a product with it.

Any more ideas on how to get it installed propperly would be greatly appreciated.

thanks, alex

Valued Contributor
alex
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 15 of 23 (2,443 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

10-14-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

fyi, finally solved the installation problem. in one of the threads where is says add *.autodesk to trusted sites you have to disable the wps option too which i found in another post.

Member
tcsandfort
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-25-2012
Message 16 of 23 (2,246 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

12-25-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: DannyHubbard

How lame is it that the install can't just show a progress bar for the download...

 

Why don't we have the option anymore to download this content manually?

New Member
dora11
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
Message 17 of 23 (2,174 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

01-11-2013 01:07 AM in reply to: alex

I can't get Revit to install on D disc. It keeps warning me that I don't have enough free space on C disc and when I select D disc, path just changes back to C disc. Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 18 of 23 (2,168 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

01-11-2013 05:28 AM in reply to: dora11

it has to install files to the C drive

this is how windows works

start cleaning up your c dirve

New Member
gaynors
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 19 of 23 (1,938 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

03-03-2013 05:37 PM in reply to: alex

i am having similar issues where is get the three red Xs next to the files im trying to install...please help...homework due tonight!:smileysad:Capture2.PNG

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,352
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 20 of 23 (1,891 Views)

Re: REVIT WON'T INSTALL

03-04-2013 09:10 AM in reply to: gaynors

gaynors wrote:

i am having similar issues where is get the three red Xs next to the files im trying to install...please help...homework due tonight!:smileysad:



Your product is failing to install because the prerequiste program required by the installer is newer than the version being installed. Please uninstall the prerequisite program causing the issue and run your installer again.

For more information about this process, please see my KB link here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Some-Products-Fail-to-Install-Result-1603/td-p/...

Probably shouldn't have waited until the last minute for your homework!  Good Luck!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.