Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 1 of 12 (1,215 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

1215 Views, 11 Replies
09-26-2013 05:44 AM

I have tried two installs for 2014 for the Plant 3d Premium suite which includes Revit Structure.

We have installs of 2013 with no issues.  The revit.ini file is setup after an initial install and modified to place paths onto our network.

 

The new installs do not hold the templates or the family template path.  I modify them (which I shouldn't have to do because they are set in the revit.ini file), close the program, reopen and they are cleared again.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks,

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 12 (1,207 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-26-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: coopert

You can modify the revit.ini file and then include in the Deployment.  There are a couple of entries in Wikihelp but it is a bit finicky right now.

 

This video is pretty good for setting up the custom Revit.ini.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqvYFnt3iqQ

 

I hope this helps.



David Lau
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 3 of 12 (1,198 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-26-2013 06:31 AM in reply to: david.lau

My revit.ini file has the paths included in the deployment.

I have succesfully done this for 2013, but 2014 doesn;t hold the paths.

 

Regardless, why are they not holding if I modify them after the fact?

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 12 (1,184 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-26-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: coopert

Did you edit the Revit.ini file located here?

 

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RVT 2014\UserDataCache

 

 



David Lau
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 5 of 12 (1,174 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-26-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: david.lau

No.  Didn't have to in 2013.

I looked at it.  The file is empty.

 

There is a file called

Revit.ini.gen  that conatinas the proper file paths and information.

 

 

Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 6 of 12 (1,144 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-27-2013 10:36 AM in reply to: coopert

Should I copy the information from the revit.ini.gen file into the revit.ini file?

 

Will it retain the information in the ini file then?

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 7 of 12 (1,135 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-27-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: coopert
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 8 of 12 (1,130 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-27-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: david.lau

Whoa,

Something is messed up with the revit structure file.

I changed the revit.ini file in the userdatacache directory and it did not update the file in the username/appdata/... location.  I had to enter the file locations in there.

 

Think the program has a an issue there.

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 9 of 12 (1,125 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-27-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: coopert

Use a broswer download of the installer via our Virtual Agent (#3):

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2013/01/quick-start-downloads.html

 

 



David Lau
Contributor
coopert
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
Message 10 of 12 (1,122 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 Structure not holding templates or family template path

09-27-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: david.lau

I'll look at it, but we have the deployments all built for installs of Plant3d Premium and Building Design.

 

I may just modify the ini files manually.

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.