Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
milesjeremyglover
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 1 of 5 (1,556 Views)

Revit 2014 says its already installed and won't let reinstall

1556 Views, 4 Replies
06-06-2013 01:07 PM

The installation of Revit Architecture 2014 was disrupted for me during the night, I believe because my battery died.  The product did not fully install, however some parts of it showed up here and there.  It did not show up in my list of programs to uninstall, however, and I just removed any parts of it I could find.  I even went through and followed the "Autodesk how to remove all programs from you computer" tutorial. 

 

The problem is when I try to Install Revit Architecture 2014 cleanly, it doesn't allow me because it says I already have it installed.  I uninstalled a different Autodesk product with the Autodesk uninstall tool, and Revit 2014 was listed in the prompt, but it fails when I try to uninstall it using the Autodesk prompt.

 

I'm not sure what remnants of the program I have on my computer, but something is hindering me from Installing it properly.

 

Suggestions?

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 2 of 5 (1,554 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 says its already installed and won't let reinstall

06-06-2013 01:12 PM in reply to: milesjeremyglover

I would try Microsoft FixIt, which can often identify and remove partial installations.  If that doesn't work or you continue to experience problems with this Revit install, please post your install log file, which should help to identify the cause of the problem.

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

New Member
maggieb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 3 of 5 (1,222 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 says its already installed and won't let reinstall

11-01-2013 06:35 PM in reply to: milesjeremyglover

I am working on parallels and am having the same problem of revit saying it is already installed.  It wont let me install it but i cant use the fix it program to get rid of what is hindering me from reinstalling it properly.  Any suggestions?

New Member
sison419
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-14-2014
Message 4 of 5 (636 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 says its already installed and won't let reinstall

03-14-2014 05:00 AM in reply to: milesjeremyglover

did you manage to solve this issue? i having the same issue

 

New Member
maggieb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 5 of 5 (608 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 says its already installed and won't let reinstall

03-14-2014 11:27 AM in reply to: sison419
I had to remove every auto desk application from my computer. Then I got it to reinstall.

Sent from my iPhone
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.