Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
AutoNewb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 1 of 6 (2,438 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

2438 Views, 5 Replies
05-03-2011 11:10 AM

Hi,

 

We created a 64-bit deployment for Revit Structure 2012 which seems to install just fine on our 64-bit Windows 7 workstations. Problem is when launching Revit, it makes reference to the Rendering library not being installed. We had this same issue with Revit 2011 as well which was never resolved and i would really like to have a working deployment of this. The US Imperial and US Metric Content Packs are selected. Not sure if this is driven from these options or not. Has anyone had any success with this yet?

 

 RevitLibrary.gif

After thinking about it for a minute you must have installed to the workstations using an MSI based push install like GPO, this would cause the Material Libraries not to get installed as they are installed by the setup.exe not the revit msi. You can create a new package or script to install the material libriaries.

They can be found in the deployment folder under ...AdminImage\Content\ADSKMaterials\2012

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 2 of 6 (2,427 Views)

Re: Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

05-03-2011 12:38 PM in reply to: AutoNewb

How are you installing from your deployments to the workstations?

 

typically the only way you would see this warning is if you when to Add/Remove Programs and uninstalled all the Autodesk Material options after you installed Revit.



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 3 of 6 (2,424 Views)

Re: Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

05-03-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: AutoNewb

After thinking about it for a minute you must have installed to the workstations using an MSI based push install like GPO, this would cause the Material Libraries not to get installed as they are installed by the setup.exe not the revit msi. You can create a new package or script to install the material libriaries.

They can be found in the deployment folder under ...AdminImage\Content\ADSKMaterials\2012



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
AutoNewb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
Message 4 of 6 (2,418 Views)

Re: Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

05-03-2011 01:16 PM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Hi Danny,

 

You are correct, we are deploying the msi via Group Policy.

 

Creating an additional deployment for the material library resolved this issue!

 

Thank you very much for your help!

 

 

New Member
jamesgeers6840
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 5 of 6 (1,434 Views)

Re: Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

04-17-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

I f I did uninstall the materials libraries trying to trouble shoot a deployment  of revit 2013, how do I get them back?

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 6 of 6 (1,429 Views)

Re: Revit 2012 Deployment- You must install the Rendering library to use featues

04-17-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jamesgeers6840

Are you trying to add the materials libraries back to just an individual machine? If so just run setup again and proceed to the final dialog, it will show Revit already installed but you can select the Materials Library.

 

Or are you trying to add them to a deployment you already created? Try modifying the deployment and proceed to the final dialog, you maybe albe to just reselect the Matrials Library.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.