Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
supportLNS
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
Message 1 of 4 (516 Views)

Revit 2012/2013 SCCM 2012 SP1

516 Views, 3 Replies
04-18-2013 07:55 AM

We have the following situation:

We deploy Revit 2012 & Revit 2013 through SCCM 2012 SP1. This goes well as the setup.exe starts with the correct .ini file and everything BUT it takes AGES to go through and install everything.

 

We have tried using Packages and using Applications, both work but go very slow. Is there someway to improve the speed of the installation?

 

Testing results:

1) Using the shortcut created by the deployment builder (manual installation): 1 hour and a half

2) Using sccm 2012 sp 1 with the following commands takes over 3 - 4 hours for just 1 thing to install:

  • .\AdminImage\Setup.exe /W /q /I AdminImage\Autodesk_Revit_2012_SA.ini /language en-US
  • .\AdminImage\Setup.exe /W /q /I AdminImage\Autodesk_Revit_2013_SA.ini /language en-US
  • .\AdminImage\Setup.exe /W /q /I AdminImage\Autodesk_Revit_2012_NWL.ini /language en-US
  • .\AdminImage\Setup.exe /W /q /I AdminImage\Autodesk_Revit_2013_NWL.ini /language en-US

On the other hand we also deploy AutoCAD 2012/2013 with the same settings and same SCCM 2012 SP1 and this takes about half an hour to install which is fine.

 

Anyone having the same experience and/or some ideas with this?

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (503 Views)

Re: Revit 2012/2013 SCCM 2012 SP1

04-18-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: supportLNS
Member
supportLNS
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
Message 3 of 4 (479 Views)

Re: Revit 2012/2013 SCCM 2012 SP1

04-19-2013 12:06 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Unfortunatly not :smileyhappy:

The account has internet access.

 

Revit 2012 including AutoCAD 2012 took 8 hours to install last night.

Revit 2013 also went overboard and took over 2 hours to install.

 

We are launching it directly from the shared folder on the server. Would it be better to download it and say run locally? Will that make any difference in installing time?

 

Thanks for the quick response though

Member
supportLNS
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
Message 4 of 4 (474 Views)

Re: Revit 2012/2013 SCCM 2012 SP1

04-19-2013 12:52 AM in reply to: supportLNS

We are going to try now by disabling the checkbox Run Silent in the deployment builder to see if that works better or not.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.