Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
xiqx
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-26-2007
Message 1 of 4 (401 Views)

registry

401 Views, 3 Replies
07-30-2008 02:33 AM
A client of us has a policy enforced that sets the following value in the registry of their computers:
reigstry location:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager

here they modify the following key: ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE here they fill in the following: @servername;

The effect is that you do not have to use a licpath.lic file and you can more easily change license servers.
All the autocad versions (map & civil en plain autocad) work fine with this except Revit. They can't seem to be abe to deal without the licpath.lic file.

has anyone some idea's what to do about this?

thanks
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 2 of 4 (401 Views)

Re: registry

07-30-2008 07:27 AM in reply to: xiqx
A workaround might be to use LM_LICENSE_FILE system variable instead.

--
Jimmy Bergmark - Owner/Developer
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Website: http://www.jtbworld.com
Blog: http://blog.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm license report tool) -
www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport




"xiqx" wrote in message news:5993862@discussion.autodesk.com...
> A client of us has a policy enforced that sets the following value in the
> registry of their computers:
> reigstry location:
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager
>
> here they modify the following key: ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE here they fill
> in the following: @servername;
>
> The effect is that you do not have to use a licpath.lic file and you can
> more easily change license servers.
> All the autocad versions (map & civil en plain autocad) work fine with
> this except Revit. They can't seem to be abe to deal without the
> licpath.lic file.
>
> has anyone some idea's what to do about this?
>
> thanks
Active Contributor
xiqx
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-26-2007
Message 3 of 4 (401 Views)

Re: registry

07-31-2008 05:10 AM in reply to: xiqx
do you mean you would set lmtools to use configuration using license file instead of service?

could you elaborate on it?

thanks
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 4 of 4 (401 Views)

Re: registry

07-31-2008 10:58 AM in reply to: xiqx
Instead of using ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE you could use LM_LICENSE_FILE on the
clients to point to the license server as I understood that was a problem
you had with Revit not accepting ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE but it might accept
LM_LICENSE_FILE.

--
Jimmy Bergmark - Owner/Developer
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Website: http://www.jtbworld.com
Blog: http://blog.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm license report tool) -
www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport

AutoCAD 2009
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2009.htm

"xiqx" wrote in message news:5995076@discussion.autodesk.com...
> do you mean you would set lmtools to use configuration using license file
> instead of service?
>
> could you elaborate on it?
>
> thanks
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.