Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 1 of 25 (9,858 Views)
Accepted Solution

"Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install any product!

9858 Views, 24 Replies
09-18-2012 08:04 PM

Hi,

 

I have a new Windows 7 64bit laptop which I am trying to get the student license for AutoCAD, Revit and 3dsMax installed on. I have been trying for weeks, but after downloading the installation file and pushing the install button I constantly get the error: "Setup initialization failed. Connection has expired. Please reconnect to site."

 

It seems like Autodesk can't recognize that I am in fact logged on, and I have been trying to log off- log on to try to solve it but I keep on getting the same error.

 

The internet is not the problem, my friend managed to install AutoCAD on his computer on the same line.

 

Please help, what can I do?

 

Grateful for any advice,

Amanda

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,352
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 25 (9,807 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-20-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: amandaer

Are you able to download the software as a 'browser" download?



David Lau
Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 3 of 25 (9,801 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-20-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: amandaer

Yup I can download it, but when pressing install I get the error code.. I wanted to try it again now, but there seems so be a problem with me signing in at http://students.autodesk.com/?nd=login, I only get an error code when trying to log on. Logging on here was not a problem though.. Strange!

 

Thanks!

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,453
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 4 of 25 (9,795 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-20-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: amandaer

Hi amandaer

 

I just reset your Education Community password (of which I'll be sending you the details via email) and verified access. Please delete your temporary internet files, clear the cache etc. and try logging in again. If you're still receiving the error you may want to consider switching browsers. 

 

Please let us know if the browser download option resolves your issue.



Philip Schmelzer
Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 5 of 25 (9,776 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: amandaer

Tried to install Revit by browser downloading, but half way through the process I got this error instead: See attached image.

 

Something definitively strange is going on.

Amanda

Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 6 of 25 (9,773 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: amandaer

The same thing happened to me trying to install 3dsMAX, see image.

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,453
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 7 of 25 (9,769 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: amandaer

Hi amandaer,

 

CRC errors may be avoided by using a different web browser, an alternate download method (maybe try the Download Now option), or by temporarily disabling all anti virus software and firewalls as they may be prematurely ending the download.



Philip Schmelzer
Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 8 of 25 (9,766 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: philip.s

Thanks Philip,

 

Ok, so now I have tried changing to the Mozilla browser and tried to "install now” that resulted in the same primary error popping up.. Then I also tried doing it while my firewall and virus program was totally switched of, that did not work either. Then I tried installing the browser downloaded over night with the protection switched of, but the same problems I got recently occurred. Nothing is working..

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,453
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 9 of 25 (9,764 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:42 AM in reply to: amandaer

You're welcome amandaerDid you try the Download Now option?



Philip Schmelzer
Contributor
amandaer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 10 of 25 (9,760 Views)

Re: "Setup initialization failed"-message pop up when I try to install

09-21-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: philip.s

Yup, both with and without the computer protection on.. I get the same error as I did the first times. See image

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.