Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 1 of 6 (138 Views)

Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

138 Views, 5 Replies
04-15-2013 01:28 PM

I already had AutoCAD 2013 on my machine before I have failed to completely install PDS Std.

 

I have tried to install this package on my machine 3 or 4 times now.  All that has been installed is Mudbox, Design Review, and Inventor.  I'm trying to get Mechanical Installed but it craps out each time.  The log file has a number "2" in it, that's all.  Am I supposed to go to the bathroom or what?

 

I have a Dell with a Xeon, 16gb Ram, Quadro 2000.

 

Please help!! How are you supposed to learn this stuff if you can't load it.

 

 

Geesh,

 

Kim


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (130 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: KimBruns

It's because you already have AutoCAD installed and updated.  See my 1603 error link to resolve this.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/AutoCAD-2013-Suite-failed-installation-aborted-...

Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 3 of 6 (119 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Travis, thanks for your quick and informative reply.  I really appreaciate it.  You've saved me a lot of time searching for answers.

 

I wonder, has Autodesk ever thought about informing individuals who UPGRADE their products that they will have to uninstall their product before they can install it and the other packages they upgraded.  My reseller never mentioned it.  Is it buried in the fine print that no one reads?  Do they realize that  uninstalling and reinstalling is not a simply process and can mess up the registry.  

Is this really the best method they could come up with?  This is the kind of stuff Autodesk needs to fix for good instead of coming up with new features.  Autodesk, take a one year sabbatical from the new stuff and fix stuff like this.

 

Thanks,

 

 

Kim


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (117 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 03:41 PM in reply to: KimBruns
It's certainly the best solution I could come up with after extensive
testing. I'm right there with you.
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,364
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 5 of 6 (93 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-18-2013 06:37 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for helping out Travis!!!



David Lau
Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 6 (83 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-18-2013 10:26 AM in reply to: KimBruns

David, can something be done about these installation issues. 

 

It's hard enough and time consuming to learn new software, but when you add onto that install issues which can take hours and/or days, it gets frustrating and can quickly take the excitement of learning a new product disappointing and laborious.

 

I've been running AutoCAD 2013 and our management was gracious enough to invest in 2 seats of  PDS Standard.  My partner and I were really looking forward to this when we both had failed installs twice.  Then I decided to post this link and thankfully received a quick response from Travis. 

 

According to what I've read I have to uninstall  SP1.1 or all my Autodesk Products along with support folders and registry remnants (which I may do).  Then reinstall again.

 

I have SP1.1 installed but when I go to Control Panel:smileytongue:rograms and Features, it isn't there as a separate line item.  I can't uninstall it.

 

Is this really the best solution to installing new software, having to uninstall some or all of it first?

 

Thanks for an answer,

 

Kim.


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.