Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
jazapata33
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 1 of 9 (750 Views)
Accepted Solution

Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

750 Views, 8 Replies
11-12-2012 06:51 AM

We just bought a new laptop for engineering and I have recently installed Autodesk product design suite 2013 on it. We have network licenses. When I connect it to the network directly through a LAN connection and try to open the software I receive an error. See attached image file.

 

I have taken the laptop else where and I have VPN into the server and it worked. Is there any reason this may be working with VPN but not with direct connection.

 

I also have checked to make sure there were enough license available for use.

 

 

Yes.  It is likely IPv6 or a combination of that and Firewall blocking ports 2080 and 27000. 

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982864

No problem.  It is exactly as I had predicted.  The reason you can't get licenses is because the connection trying to be made to the NLM server is IPv6.  This can be fixed by modifying the hosts file on the client machine to point to the IPv4 address (the one you PING'ed first) instead. 

 

The entire process is in my IPv6 fix.  Instead of the 127.0.0.1 (localhost) listed in my link, use the IP address of the NLM server along with its hostname on a separate line.  That should fix you up.

 

Essentially your hosts file entry should look like this:

 

10.100.0.48     RYKO5

 

Then when you PING it as you did in your last screen capture, it will be correct instead of the IPv6 jargon you saw instead.

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982864

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 9 (742 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-12-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: jazapata33

Yes.  It is likely IPv6 or a combination of that and Firewall blocking ports 2080 and 27000. 

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

Active Member
jazapata33
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 3 of 9 (736 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-12-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: TravisNave

why would that be an issue if my workstation works fine with the same connection? Just curious.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 9 (731 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-12-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: jazapata33

Because of the IP protocol in use, would be my guess.

 

You might PING the server from your LAN connection with the problem and make sure that the response is a valid IPv4 address.  You can also check with Internet Explorer on the firewall ports:

 

http://servername:2080

http://servername:27000

 

Those two should give a jargon response page if open.  (replace servername with your NLM server hostname.)

Active Member
jazapata33
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 5 of 9 (708 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-14-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Alright I have the laptop connected through the LAN and have pinged the server. Here is the image of the server ping look just like my workstation ping.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 9 (705 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-14-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: jazapata33

You need to PING by hostname, not IP address.  Repost your results.

Active Member
jazapata33
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 7 of 9 (699 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-14-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: TravisNave

alright Here is what it looks like after I ping to by the server name. Also I am fairly new to all of this installation information so bare with me please.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 9 (693 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-14-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: jazapata33

No problem.  It is exactly as I had predicted.  The reason you can't get licenses is because the connection trying to be made to the NLM server is IPv6.  This can be fixed by modifying the hosts file on the client machine to point to the IPv4 address (the one you PING'ed first) instead. 

 

The entire process is in my IPv6 fix.  Instead of the 127.0.0.1 (localhost) listed in my link, use the IP address of the NLM server along with its hostname on a separate line.  That should fix you up.

 

Essentially your hosts file entry should look like this:

 

10.100.0.48     RYKO5

 

Then when you PING it as you did in your last screen capture, it will be correct instead of the IPv6 jargon you saw instead.

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

Active Member
jazapata33
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 9 of 9 (688 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2013 licensing issues

11-14-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for all your help. your solutions has fixed the issue.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!