Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,355
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 1 of 15 (22,120 Views)
Accepted Solution

Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Exception)

22120 Views, 14 Replies
10-25-2010 01:38 PM

If you are setting up a Firewall exception for Autodesk Network Licensing, you will need to know the following:

 

  • Port 2080 is used for the adskflex.exe
  • Port 27000-27009 is used for the lmgrd.exe

The default license file will start with the following 3 lines:

 

   SERVER Your-SERVER-name 0025b3282c6b

   USE_SERVER  

   VENDOR adskflex port=2080

 

To force the lmgrd to use a particular port, just edit the network license file as noted below:

 

   SERVER Your-SERVER-name 0025b3282c6b 27000
   USE_SERVER
   VENDOR adskflex port=2080

 

You do not need to change 2080 as this port has been reserved for Autodesk.  

 

Firewall exception instructions are as noted below:

 

  • Incoming > Add Port > Name: Autodesk 2080 > Port Number:  2080 > Protocol TCP
  • Incoming > Add Port > Name: Autodesk 27000 > Port Number:  27000 > Protocol TCP
NOTE:  For Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2, you can actually put in a range of ports. i.e. 27000-27009.  You may not need to force the system to look at a particular port number i.e. 27000.

 

The client license, if you have added the custom port on the server license file would be:

 

SERVER Your-SERVER-name 0 27000
USE_SERVER

 



David Lau

lmgrd.exe uses ports 27000~27009.  It's also good to add all four of the NLM files to the exception list as well:

 

lmgrd.exe

lmutil.exe

lmtools.exe

adskflex.exe

 

If you have other vendors in addition to the Autodesk products (i.e. Minitab, VMWare, Ansys, etc.) be sure to add the appropriate vendor .exe and port number also. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,337
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 15 (22,107 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

10-25-2010 02:36 PM in reply to: david.lau

lmgrd.exe uses ports 27000~27009.  It's also good to add all four of the NLM files to the exception list as well:

 

lmgrd.exe

lmutil.exe

lmtools.exe

adskflex.exe

 

If you have other vendors in addition to the Autodesk products (i.e. Minitab, VMWare, Ansys, etc.) be sure to add the appropriate vendor .exe and port number also. 

Member
Kurt4949
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 3 of 15 (21,865 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

11-30-2010 11:48 AM in reply to: david.lau

On Windows Server 2008 R2, I added inbound TCP rules for the ports described.

 

  • Port 2080 is used for the adskflex.exe
  • Port 27000-27009 is used for the lmgrd.exe

Still clients can only connect when I disable the firewall completely.  I even tried adding all exe files and it still doesn't work with the Firewall enabled.  Any ideas?

 

The error on the client machine is:

 

Flexnet License Manager

Networking Error: Server ("myserver") not responding.  Please contact System Administrator for assistance.

 

As soon as I disable the firewall on the server, the error goes away.  I'm a bit confused as I added exceptions for all recommended ports and programs.

Member
Kurt4949
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2009
Message 4 of 15 (21,860 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

11-30-2010 12:04 PM in reply to: Kurt4949

Finally figured it out. I had to enable the Ping Firewall rule called "File and Printer Sharing (Echo Request - ICMPv4-In)"

 

 

Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 5 of 15 (20,833 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 08:04 AM in reply to: david.lau

David,

 

First of all, Good Post!I

 

I have a few questions for you, and I hope someone would answer since this post is about a year old...

 

1. Can I change the port number to something other than 27000 - 27009 to something like 6799?

2. Can I have all of my licenses (which utilizes different vendor daemons) into one license file that is configured as one service within LMTOOLS?

 

Thanks!

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,337
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 15 (20,830 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 09:39 AM in reply to: david.lau
Darin,

You can change the port as described. And you can combine license files for other vendors if the headers match. Regardless you can use one single license manager for all vendors. I just made a KB post on this. See my combining LIC files in my signature below.

Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 7 of 15 (20,824 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the reply Travis. However, in you other post regarding combining licenses, it also reads you must create different services for each vendor's license.

 

Here's a snippet from your other post regarding combining license files:

 

  • "Once the vendor daemons and the license files have been appropriately placed, a separate license service needs to be created for each vendor license.  To do this, open LMTOOLS and go to the Config Services tab.  In each separate service from the 'Service Name' pull-down list, you would point to the same LMGRD.EXE master daemon file listed in the first box labeled 'Path to the lmgrd.exe file.'  This will ensure that each service is using the latest master daemon file and that more than one master daemon version is not being used.  Next point each service to its relative license file.  Finally, you should also give each service its own separate debug.log file.  Save each service you create, making sure that both check boxes at the bottom are checked."

 

Also, in regard to the port numbers, the following link suggest using ports 27000 - 27009. Here's a snippet as well as a link to the page:

 

  • "Note: Specifying a port outside of the 27000-27009 range should be avoided unless the vendor specifies that a particular port outside of the range should be used instead."

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2865829&linkID=9240617

 

I just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing before implimenting, and 90+ users are sitting around without licenses.

 

Thanks for all of you help!

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,337
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 15 (20,820 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: david.lau
You can only combine license files if the top lines of each license header are identical. If so, then just paste the vendor lone and then the necessary INCREMENT lines. If they are not the same, you cannot combine the files. In that case, you simply create a separate service from within the same LMTOOLS and using the same lmgrd.exe file.

Clear as mud yet?
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 9 of 15 (20,817 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Ok, that make sense! Thanks Travis.

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,337
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 15 (20,808 Views)

Re: Port number used for network licensing of Autodesk products (Firewall Except

07-22-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: david.lau
No problem! I've run this thing in so many configurations, not much surprises me anymore. If you ever need help with it, just let me know.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.