Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 908
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 1 of 6 (360 Views)
Accepted Solution

Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

360 Views, 5 Replies
10-08-2013 08:13 AM

For about the third time during new or re-imaged computers setup by our IT guys, the Inventor Suite installs and works without issue as a networked license, but the companion AutoCAD Mechanical demands to be activated on startup.  I'm not sure how they fixed it the last couple of times.  I'm also not sure how they install in the first place, if their deployment is screwed up or if they're just using the stock installer off the disc.  The real problem is they're two states away and we're the only ones using this software.  By now, they absolutely hate working with Autodesk products given these recurring problems (and seemingly ever-changing products, bundles, license managers, etc...).

 

I did run across several threads about folks converting standalone installs into networked versions simply by changing a DWORD in the registry, such as:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Stand-alone-to-Network-2010-R18-0/m-p/2453652

 

but I couldn't find an exact match of my scenario.  Since I already have the mentioned ProductInformation.pit file and a LICPATH.LIC file (in the Inventor 2010 folder, but not the ACADM 2010 folder), I wonder if backing up the registry and changing the Dword in my attachment from 2 to 1 might be worth a try. I was hoping for some insights on this or if there is another solution that I'm missing.

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000

the Inventor Suite consists of Autocad Mechanical and Inventor they both need to be configured separtely

just because you configured inventor to run as Network doesn't make mechanical run as network also and vice vera

this is fixed in the latest suites

you would have to have access to the deployment so you can check the deployment

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (349 Views)

Re: Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

10-08-2013 08:30 AM in reply to: kstate92

if the registry hack doesn't work

the only other way is  to uninstall autocad Mechanical and install as a network license

it sounds like they didn't configure Autocad Mechanical to install as a network and they just left as default which is standalone

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 908
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 3 of 6 (346 Views)

Re: Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

10-08-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Darren,

 

This is the part I don't understand.  Since the activation dialog lists Autodesk Inventor Suite 2010 when starting up AutoCAD Mechanical, doesn't that mean it *is* part of the suite and not a separate install?  Why would the default install behaviour be different than the main part of the Suite being installed?

 

How can I verify the installed Mechanical is actually part of the Suite and not a stand-alone?

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 6 (341 Views)

Re: Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

10-08-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: kstate92

the Inventor Suite consists of Autocad Mechanical and Inventor they both need to be configured separtely

just because you configured inventor to run as Network doesn't make mechanical run as network also and vice vera

this is fixed in the latest suites

you would have to have access to the deployment so you can check the deployment

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 908
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 5 of 6 (330 Views)

Re: Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

10-08-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: DarrenP

The registry hack didn't work so I uninstalled Mechanical 2010 and re-ran the setup.exe on the Inventor DVD image and picked just AutoCAD Mechanical 2010 to install.  I almost missed the step where to expose the carefully hidden option of Standalone or License but it completed and now is running properly off the network license.

 

"this is fixed in the latest suites"

 

[Sarcasm] Gee, I can't imagine why. [/Sarcasm]

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 6 (322 Views)

Re: Networked Inventor 2010 Suite companion AutoCAD Mech installs as standalone

10-08-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: kstate92

kstate92 wrote:
"this is fixed in the latest suites"

 

[Sarcasm] Gee, I can't imagine why. [/Sarcasm]


this was a known issue with the eariler suites that autodesk fixed in the new suites

thats all i was saying

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.