Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 1 of 6 (224 Views)
Accepted Solution

Network License - Previous Versions

224 Views, 5 Replies
06-12-2012 02:20 PM
We are going to convert 15 2013 standalone seats to a network license. But we are actually going to install and run AutoCAD 2011. Is there any special procedure to run 2011 instead of 2013? Thanks

So long as your 2013 is under Subscription, no.  Your Subscription network license will allow for previous versions up to three releases back.  All you will need to do is install 2011 as a network version and point to the license server.  Nothing special beyond that.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,343
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (223 Views)

Re: Network License - Previous Versions

06-12-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: GTVic

So long as your 2013 is under Subscription, no.  Your Subscription network license will allow for previous versions up to three releases back.  All you will need to do is install 2011 as a network version and point to the license server.  Nothing special beyond that.

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 3 of 6 (221 Views)

Re: Network License - Previous Versions

06-12-2012 02:30 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks, so this would continue to work until 2015 is released, I'm assuming.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,343
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (217 Views)

Re: Network License - Previous Versions

06-12-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: GTVic

Yes, it will work as far up as your Subscription 2015 license.  However if at the time you choose to upgrade to 2016, then you would not be able to use 2011 anymore.  However, nothing keeps you from continuing to use 2011 so long as you do not choose to update to 2016, even if your Subscription automatically updates you.  You can get 2016 and not choose to license it and continue to use 2011 indefinitely until you deem it necessary to move on. 

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 5 of 6 (211 Views)

Re: Network License - Previous Versions

06-12-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks

 

Here is an unrelated question but I guess I can hijack my own thread

 

What exactly happens if you lose network connection and you are not borrowing? Can you reconnect and resume using AutoCAD? Can you save and exit?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,343
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (208 Views)

Re: Network License - Previous Versions

06-12-2012 03:01 PM in reply to: GTVic

If AutoCAD loses its heartbeat connection to the NLM, it will try to reconnect on its own. If it cannot, and the license is not borrowed, it will notify you and will ask you to save before it closes.  You will not lose any work.  If the network connection is restored, then it will be like nothing ever happened.  There's not much to worry about in terms of network licensing.  There are rarely connectivity issues once everything has been set up properly.  :smileyhappy:

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.