Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
colegceredigion
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Message 1 of 6 (254 Views)
Accepted Solution

Network license manager

254 Views, 5 Replies
05-09-2012 01:28 PM

I'm the software co-ordinator for a college with a brand-new maya license. I'm trying to get my head round the network licensing process and I'd like to know if my license server can also be a client too?

I'm concerned about our network reliablility and it would also be simpler if the server was one of the machines in the classroom.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,230
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (251 Views)

Re: Network license manager

05-09-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: colegceredigion

the bad thing about running it that way in a classroom setting is all it takes is one person to mess with the license manager and mess things up

the license manager doesn't rely on high bandwidth

 

Product Support
nicolas.holst
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
Message 3 of 6 (215 Views)

Re: Network license manager

05-14-2012 04:53 AM in reply to: colegceredigion

Hi Siencyn,


 

Like Darren mentions it may be safer to put the license server on a dedicated machine which isn't in the classroom (depending on your setup like if you need to access the licenses from other class rooms it may actually be easier).

 

From a technical point of view it will work if you put it on one of the machines in the classroom, by putting it on the instructor machine that should prevent people from messing with it.


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 



Nicolas Holst
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
colegceredigion
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Message 4 of 6 (190 Views)

Re: Network license manager

05-15-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: colegceredigion

Hope it's okay to tag this question onto my existing thread;

 

We bought and received the 2012 version of the software, however we then received an upgrade download link. As we're running on macs I only downloaded the mac version of 2013 and I wanted to confirm that the NLM included in the installer discs for the 2012 version will still work as our license server will be a PC. I don't really want to download the PC version just to get the NLM but onbviously I will if I have to.

 

Thanks.

Product Support
nicolas.holst
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
Message 5 of 6 (162 Views)

Re: Network license manager

05-16-2012 12:41 AM in reply to: colegceredigion

Hi Siencyn,

 

We recommend that you use the most up to date license manager. You can download the latest version of the license manager from this page: Latest Version of the Autodesk Network License Manager

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!




Nicolas Holst
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
colegceredigion
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2012
Message 6 of 6 (159 Views)

Re: Network license manager

05-16-2012 12:43 AM in reply to: colegceredigion

Many thanks for your reply Nick.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.