Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
TheTechEase
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-21-2014
Message 1 of 4 (114 Views)

Network Install with 5 + computers

114 Views, 3 Replies
02-21-2014 03:07 PM

Hello,

 

I have an office that is running 5 computers with Aucad and all of the data is stored centeraly on a NAS (Network attached storage device). Right now everything is running just fine but they are thinking about going from 5 computer to 12 and I want to make sure that my network setup is still the best option. Nothing is stored localy, everything is on the NAS where all 12 computers will be working from at the same time.

 

Everything is gigabite and wired and I just want to see how others have their networks setup so I can run at top speeds at all times.

 

Thanks,

TheTechEase

*Expert Elite*
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 528
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 2 of 4 (83 Views)

Re: Network Install with 5 + computers

02-22-2014 04:43 AM in reply to: TheTechEase

Hi There,

 

Welcome to the community,

 

Everything should still work fine like it is now. Do you want to put all your AutoCAD licenses on the network?

 

For a data management package that you can have more control over, I would suggest that you have a look at Vault Professional. Have a look at the link: http://knowledge.autodesk.com/contactushttp://knowledge.autodesk.com/contactus

I have many success stories with Vault. We just implemented Vault as a massive client of ours. They can access their data from different branches all over the world. They had no complaints. It would be a good investment

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

Jo - Ann (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)


AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
New Member
TheTechEase
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-21-2014
Message 3 of 4 (60 Views)

Re: Network Install with 5 + computers

02-28-2014 05:20 PM in reply to: TheTechEase

Thank you for your reply.

 

What would I gain by putting all of my licenses on the network as opposed to each computer having its own lic.

 

Is there a better setup then storing everything on the NAS such as a server? Can you provide more information on Vault Professional? The link was broken.

 

Thanks,

Drew

*Expert Elite*
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 528
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 4 of 4 (48 Views)

Re: Network Install with 5 + computers

03-02-2014 10:24 PM in reply to: TheTechEase

Ok so currently you have 5 licenses, and 5 users can work at the same time, and you control these 5 users seperately. With a network license you have 12 "seats" (licenses) on the server. Which means you can have AutoCAD installed on let say 20 PC's and only 12 users can work at the same time but you have your license stored at one location. It is also possible when a user travels or needs to be on site he can "borrow" a licence from the server at check it back in once he returns. So everything would be linked to the server. Have a look at this link explaining Network Licenses: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=123112&id=18270103

 

Try this link for Vault Professional: http://www.autodesk.com/products/autodesk-vault-family/overview

If this link does not want to work as well, go to Autodesk.com and search Vault Professional

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

Jo - Ann (P.S follow me on twitter @JoAnn_Hogan)


AutoCAD Certified Professional 2014 / Inventor Certified Professional 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.