Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
elvenseer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-10-2012
Message 1 of 3 (427 Views)

.NET 4 Framework error trying to install ANY version of 3DS MAX on Windows 7

427 Views, 2 Replies
11-10-2012 03:33 PM

<->
I have tried numerous vesion of 3DS MAx (2011,2012 and 2013) and have done a zero all data and clean install of windows several times.  I have even tried a couple of different versions of Widows (Home premium, Performance version etc) and i KEEP getting an error that prevents install.

(I am now running..and will stick with Windows 7 Home premium 64bit)

Whether i try the RUN install or save option, i get a red box coming up with an error message which states that the software needs .Net 4 or later to install.  But this system already has the latest .net 4.

If i click on the link with the error to install .NET 4 .. it eventually errors stating i already have .net 4 installed...No Kidding!!! 
I have searched various windows forum suggestions but none relate to this issue.

Please help- i have been messing around with this for WEEKS!!!! and i have 2 assignments well overdue. 

Somebody pleeeease help.  . 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 3 (393 Views)

Re: .NET 4 Framework error trying to install ANY version of 3DS MAX on Windows 7

11-15-2012 07:20 PM in reply to: elvenseer

I would reload Windows if possible. Anything dealing with trying to repair .NET can be  tricky.

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2012/01/installation-net-repair-for-windows-7-the-easy-wa...



David Lau
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,499
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 3 (382 Views)

Re: .NET 4 Framework error trying to install ANY version of 3DS MAX on Windows 7

11-16-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: elvenseer

Your product is failing to install because the prerequiste program required by the installer is newer than the version being installed. Please uninstall the prerequisite program causing the issue and run your installer again.

.NET Framework issues can be resolved using the .NET Framework Cleanup Tool. More information about this tool can be found at my discussion thread here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/NET-Framework-Cleanup-Tool-for-Unhandled-Except...

Good Luck!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.