Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

Multiple license servers/one computer?

270 Views, 5 Replies
08-13-2013 01:14 PM

I am wondering if it's possible to run 2 versions of C3d from separate license servers on one single computer?

 

Thanks in advance,

jr

Right.

 

The borrowed license is tied to the username and the network card.  So if you borrow a license with the NIC, then it needs to be enabled to work.  If you borrow a license with the WiFi, it needs to be enabled to work.  In both cases, if you disable one the other license will be used on the other card. 

 

Likewise, if you login as User1, it will use one license. If you login with User2, it will use the other. 

 

Either way would suffice in your situation.

*Expert Elite*
10,892 Posts
901 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 2 of 6

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-13-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

Welcome to the community.

 

To answer your question... most likely.  But to be clear, what exactly are you trying to accomplish?

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Post 3 of 6

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-13-2013 03:52 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Working for 2 separate companies, so using only A's network license for A's projects and B's network license for B's projects. I would like to install both on one workstation so when I travel (and doing work for both), I'm not dragging 2 workstations along for the ride. 

*Expert Elite*
10,892 Posts
901 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 4 of 6

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

I see what you mean.  You can only borrow two licenses for one product under the following circumstances:

 

1.  You login with a different user account and borrow the licenses as different users

2.  You borrow a license from one server using the hard-wired Ethernet NIC on one server and the your WiFi card on the second server

 

In either of these situations, you will have a borrowed license from each server for one application. 

 

Ultimately, it does not matter whose license you use though.  The software doesn't really care.

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Post 5 of 6

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: TravisNave
Many many thanks for your reply!

Is the connection dedicated? In other words, if I am only using one license, will it default to the WiFi connection, or is the method of connection dedicated (where A always uses the Ethernet NIC connection when B is not using the WiFi connection)? (sorry, I know the software pretty well, but the IT end of things...not my thing, at all).
*Expert Elite*
10,892 Posts
901 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 6

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

Right.

 

The borrowed license is tied to the username and the network card.  So if you borrow a license with the NIC, then it needs to be enabled to work.  If you borrow a license with the WiFi, it needs to be enabled to work.  In both cases, if you disable one the other license will be used on the other card. 

 

Likewise, if you login as User1, it will use one license. If you login with User2, it will use the other. 

 

Either way would suffice in your situation.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!