Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
jmcrosenbaum
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 1 of 6 (261 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple license servers/one computer?

261 Views, 5 Replies
08-13-2013 01:14 PM

I am wondering if it's possible to run 2 versions of C3d from separate license servers on one single computer?

 

Thanks in advance,

jr

Right.

 

The borrowed license is tied to the username and the network card.  So if you borrow a license with the NIC, then it needs to be enabled to work.  If you borrow a license with the WiFi, it needs to be enabled to work.  In both cases, if you disable one the other license will be used on the other card. 

 

Likewise, if you login as User1, it will use one license. If you login with User2, it will use the other. 

 

Either way would suffice in your situation.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (254 Views)

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-13-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

Welcome to the community.

 

To answer your question... most likely.  But to be clear, what exactly are you trying to accomplish?

Member
jmcrosenbaum
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 3 of 6 (249 Views)

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-13-2013 03:52 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Working for 2 separate companies, so using only A's network license for A's projects and B's network license for B's projects. I would like to install both on one workstation so when I travel (and doing work for both), I'm not dragging 2 workstations along for the ride. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (221 Views)

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

I see what you mean.  You can only borrow two licenses for one product under the following circumstances:

 

1.  You login with a different user account and borrow the licenses as different users

2.  You borrow a license from one server using the hard-wired Ethernet NIC on one server and the your WiFi card on the second server

 

In either of these situations, you will have a borrowed license from each server for one application. 

 

Ultimately, it does not matter whose license you use though.  The software doesn't really care.

Member
jmcrosenbaum
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 5 of 6 (217 Views)

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: TravisNave
Many many thanks for your reply!

Is the connection dedicated? In other words, if I am only using one license, will it default to the WiFi connection, or is the method of connection dedicated (where A always uses the Ethernet NIC connection when B is not using the WiFi connection)? (sorry, I know the software pretty well, but the IT end of things...not my thing, at all).
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (213 Views)

Re: Multiple license servers/one computer?

08-14-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: jmcrosenbaum

Right.

 

The borrowed license is tied to the username and the network card.  So if you borrow a license with the NIC, then it needs to be enabled to work.  If you borrow a license with the WiFi, it needs to be enabled to work.  In both cases, if you disable one the other license will be used on the other card. 

 

Likewise, if you login as User1, it will use one license. If you login with User2, it will use the other. 

 

Either way would suffice in your situation.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!