Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
org
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Post 1 of 6

Migrating Network Licenses

234 Views, 5 Replies
02-27-2014 04:45 AM

Hi everybody,

We will have to re install our Server that provides our network licenses of 3dsmax. Both Servers run FlexLM tools under Win 2008 R2

It seems I am not able to find out how to transfer the license correctly.

I found tons of info on transferring Standalone licenses via LTU but none of the informations seem to apply to network licenses.
Is there anyone around who can point me in the right direction?

 

All help gretaly appreciated,

 

Lorenz

Alumni
74 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Post 2 of 6

Re: Migrating Network Licenses

02-27-2014 05:30 AM in reply to: org

Hi, 

 

Here you find the relevant information about migrating a licence server.

 

If you need help with generating a new licence file please contact our licence assistance team for direct support and confirm the new server details as well as attach the old licence file.



Franz Gaisbauer

org
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Post 3 of 6

Re: Migrating Network Licenses

02-27-2014 06:11 AM in reply to: org

Hi Franz,

thank you for the quick reply.
Unfortunetely it seems to be required that I deinstall the Autodesk License Manger wich is not possible as  - among other things - the Windows Installer, that is needed for such an operation, is defunct beyond repair. :-\
Is there a way around this to deactivate the old license-file?

All the best,

Lorenz

*Expert Elite*
10,937 Posts
904 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 4 of 6

Re: Migrating Network Licenses

02-27-2014 07:50 AM in reply to: org

Simply stop the license service and delete the service from within LMTOOLS.  That should do it.  At that point, you can delete the license manager files.

org
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Post 5 of 6

Re: Migrating Network Licenses

02-27-2014 10:05 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Okay, will try that. But have no longer access to that machine today. Thanks so far, Travis.
But I thought it would be necessary to let the License manager "talk" to subscription center to park the license before getting a new one?
Anyway, I will try to do as you suggest tomorrow and then try to get a new license by registering again...

Thx,

Lorenz

org
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-26-2014
Post 6 of 6

Re: Migrating Network Licenses

03-03-2014 05:19 AM in reply to: org

Okay, got a new license and after a bit of fiddling it works again.
Thank you all!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!