Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
lloyd.veloso2013
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-19-2013
Message 1 of 6 (534 Views)

Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125?

534 Views, 5 Replies
08-26-2013 08:47 PM

Hi Guys,

 

Here is our problem. We have two laboratories all running Mac OS X 10.6.8 - Snow Leopard. Our Editing Lab is composed of iMacs (13 workstations) and our CGI Lab is composed of MacPros (7 workstations) and these two are network connected. Now, our Autodesk License Server is our Mentor's workstation in the CGI Lab which is running the Maya 2014 application. During the installation of Maya 2014, I can only install them to 6 workstations in our CGI Lab because we were having a problem with one workstation which connection keeps turning on and off thus it can't connect or locate the Autodesk License Server. In our Editing Lab, I was only able to install the Maya 2014 to our Mentor's workstation and not with the remaining 12 iMacs because they can't connect to the Autodesk License Server.

 

When I encountered this problem, I was thinking maybe something is wrong with our connection so I called our Network Contractor to check the physical connection and they found out that nothing is wrong with our LAN setup so they suggested to raise our concern to Autodesk and that maybe it's the license server that is blocking the connections. By the way, we assigned static IP address to each workstation instead of using the DHCP.

 

Any ideas on this.

 

Thanks.

Lloyd

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (515 Views)

Re: Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125

08-27-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: lloyd.veloso2013

The license manager uses ports 27000 and 2080, so make sure those are open and that you can verify connectivity to the server computer.  Does the status show the NLM is running and licenses are available?

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
lloyd.veloso2013
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-19-2013
Message 3 of 6 (502 Views)

Re: Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125

08-27-2013 06:15 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi Travis, thank you so much for your reply. Now, I don't have any idea about networking. May I ask how do I locate these ports 27000 and 2080 and how do I "OPEN" them?

 

Thanks.

Lloyd

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (497 Views)

Re: Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125

08-27-2013 07:45 PM in reply to: lloyd.veloso2013
I suspect there is some sort of firewall on the server.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
lloyd.veloso2013
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-19-2013
Message 5 of 6 (496 Views)

Re: Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125

08-27-2013 07:55 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi Travis, may I ask how do I check a firewall because our server is actually a MacPro running Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard). I don't think I've enabled any firewalls in that workstation.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (489 Views)

Re: Maya 2014 License Server for MAC can ONLY connect 7 computers instead of 125

08-29-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: lloyd.veloso2013

I guess you can try to telnet into that server using those ports. If it connects, they are open.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.