Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
jsnchin55
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2013
Message 1 of 13 (3,804 Views)
Accepted Solution

Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

3804 Views, 12 Replies
03-08-2013 04:44 PM

This was probably my fault.  I opened maya up twice at the same time on accident(first time launching the program) and one of them opened up fine.  While the other gave me the license not obtained.  After closing maya, now I get the license not obtained and cannot use maya at all.  This is with the 3 year student license.  I have a serial and activation code as well and had received an email that said I had registered my product.  Do I need to reinstall?  can I redownload or no?

Thanks for the providing that Jason!

 

A quick search in the forums comes back with a handful of potential culprits and corresponding solutions. Please check out the following links for more info and let me know if any of them resolve the issue.

 
LINK 1 - Delete the file Maya.env file which may be corrupt / preventing the program from functioning. After doing so and upon first run, a new Maya.env file will be generated.

Windows XP & 7
C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\maya\version

Mac OS X
/Users/username/Library/Preferences/Autodesk/maya/version

LINK 2 - Do the following:

 

1: Pull up run and type in services.msc
2: Click on the standard tab at the bottom.
3: Find FLEXnet licensing service.
4: Right click on it and press properties.
5: Make the start-up type Automatic.
6: Under “service Status”, press start.

Member
natnatb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-01-2013
Message 2 of 13 (3,614 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-08-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: jsnchin55

I have exactly the same problem. My assignment needs me to use this program.

Maya email team have been extremely unhelpful, not really doing anything at all. They have asked me to send the "request code" from within the product, when I specified that I couldn't get INTO the product.

I have called the team and they said they'd call me back, but I highly doubt they will.

It seems that maybe because we're students we aren't "worthy" of getting proper help. I don't know. But either way, I'm sick of waiting for them.

I have redownloaded, tried to reactivate my program and such, but nothing works. Sorry, but you're as stuck as me.

I hope everything works out soon, and they actually give some decent help.

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,657
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 3 of 13 (3,609 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-08-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: natnatb

Hello Natalie,

 

My apologies for the previous inconvenience and can confirm that student licenses generally do not qualify for our technical support entitlement which is a subscription benefit. We do however have a Per-Incident 1-on-1 support offering which is available to anyone not on a subscription contract.

 

Can you please confirm that you've installed the software as a standalone deployment and not a network? Are you able to provide a screen shot of the error?



Philip Schmelzer
Member
natnatb
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-01-2013
Message 4 of 13 (3,605 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-08-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: philip.s
Wait, I'm confused...

I'm expected to pay to gain help on free software...?

I'm not too sure that I understand.

Either way, I have called technical support, and emailed them as well as
tried to get in touch in every way possible to describe the problem.

Is there nothing that can be done for me to get this free software? Without
paying any money. I have handed my computer to the IT technicians at my
college and they can do nothing. I have handed it to my tutor. No one knows
what the problem is, and the help support staff don't seem to know how the
program works either.

Is there anything I can do?
Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,657
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 13 (3,596 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-08-2013 06:29 PM in reply to: natnatb

Correct. While free termed licenses are one benefit of the Education Community, free technical support is not as it is a paid / subscription only entitlement.

 

As mentioned previously, can you please confirm that you've installed the software as a standalone deployment and not a network? Are you able to provide a screen shot of the error?



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
jsnchin55
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2013
Message 6 of 13 (3,588 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-09-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: philip.s

Here is a screen shot of the error.  Ive tried reinstalling and unistalling maya but still get this.  It is quite frustrating.  My project is due tom so its kind of no use although I would still like a solution as quick as possible.  Not sure if im gonna fail or not.  Capture 2.PNG

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,657
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 7 of 13 (3,573 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

05-09-2013 06:42 PM in reply to: jsnchin55

Thanks for the providing that Jason!

 

A quick search in the forums comes back with a handful of potential culprits and corresponding solutions. Please check out the following links for more info and let me know if any of them resolve the issue.

 
LINK 1 - Delete the file Maya.env file which may be corrupt / preventing the program from functioning. After doing so and upon first run, a new Maya.env file will be generated.

Windows XP & 7
C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\maya\version

Mac OS X
/Users/username/Library/Preferences/Autodesk/maya/version

LINK 2 - Do the following:

 

1: Pull up run and type in services.msc
2: Click on the standard tab at the bottom.
3: Find FLEXnet licensing service.
4: Right click on it and press properties.
5: Make the start-up type Automatic.
6: Under “service Status”, press start.



Philip Schmelzer
Member
offnamoor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 8 of 13 (2,662 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

10-14-2013 05:23 AM in reply to: philip.s

Not work :[ . Help me pleaseUntitled.png

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,657
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 9 of 13 (2,642 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

10-14-2013 10:57 AM in reply to: offnamoor

Welcome to the community Aoffy.

 

Can you first try disabling your antivirus software and running the program? Any difference?

 

If not, this one typically requires a complete uninstall and reinstall, including the removal of all Autodesk files and registry folders. Please see the following for instructions and let us know how it goes!

 

Recommended uninstall and reinstall procedures - LINK



Philip Schmelzer
Member
offnamoor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2013
Message 10 of 13 (2,630 Views)

Re: Maya 2013 student (License not obtained)

10-14-2013 05:08 PM in reply to: philip.s
Thanks for the quick reply
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!