Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
neil.russell
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2013
Message 1 of 7 (177 Views)
Accepted Solution

LTU and Network Licenses

177 Views, 6 Replies
10-31-2013 03:21 AM

Hi

 

Within our organization we have a mix of fixed and network licenses that  stems from historic issues.

 

The scenario is:

 

I have a network licensed copy of Inventor. We are already at our limit for network licenses. There is a fixed license user on vacation for two weeks.

 

My thought was - I could use the LTU to transfer the fixed license to my machine for a couple of weeks and then we could transfer it back once the user had returned from vacation.

 

I have tried this. The transfer went smoothly and the license is now on my machine however when I try to run Inventor I am told there are insufficient licenses available. It is therefore still looking towards the network for a license.

 

So, how can I change this?

Do I have to re-install which will be a pain?

If I do have to reinstall, will it pick the license up automatically?

 

I thought this was going to be easy and indeed the transfer was but now Im stuck so any help\advice would be greatly appreciated.

 

Many thanks

 

Neil

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 7 (158 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: neil.russell

the license transfer utility doesn't apply to network licenses only to standalone licenses

if your running out of licenses limit the borrowing time or elminate it completely or you may need to buy more licenses

Member
neil.russell
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2013
Message 3 of 7 (155 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Hi Darren

 

Thanks for the reply.

 

Sorry, I think Ive confused things.......I have a network license and Im trying to borrow a stand alone license whilst a colleague is on vacation.

 

Neil

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 7 (151 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: neil.russell

neil.russell ,

 

Theoretically, this would work. BUT, you are installed as a network. You would need to UNINSTALL your inventor network and install again as a standalone, and then transfer to that machine.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,251
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 7 (145 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: dembkod

if you have a network license you can borrow a license for up to 6 months but this does take the license out of your network license pool

Member
neil.russell
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2013
Message 6 of 7 (141 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Hi all

 

Thanks for all the replies

 

I've solved it....and to be fair Autodesk already had the solution on their site.

 

Once you know there is a registry key to change then it all works perfectly. Inventor automatically picks up the stand alone license that has been transferred.

 

The solution can be found here

 

Many thanks for all help

 

Neil

Member
neil.russell
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2013
Message 7 of 7 (128 Views)

Re: LTU and Network Licenses

10-31-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: neil.russell

Just to put the record straightt in case that sounded like I came up with the solution I didnt.

 

It was purely running across the Autodesk page about changing license types in the registry that solved it for me.

 

Neil

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.