Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
rfarleman
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 1 of 5 (213 Views)

Loading AutoCAD 2013

213 Views, 4 Replies
05-31-2013 01:11 PM

Trying to load AutoCAD 2013 on my laptop.  I clicked on set up, and I get the message  "Do you want the following program to make changes on this computer."  I click "yes" and nothing happens.  I checked the certificate and it expired 9/20/2012.  Is that why it woundn't load?  How do I update the certificate?

 

Why would a certificate for 2013 expire in 2012???

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (210 Views)

Re: Loading AutoCAD 2013

05-31-2013 01:23 PM in reply to: rfarleman
Member
rfarleman
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 3 of 5 (198 Views)

Re: Loading AutoCAD 2013

05-31-2013 02:17 PM in reply to: TravisNave

When files are downloaded to a computer they (files) are checked by the computer for a valid digital certificate which virifies that the files are safe and do not contain any viruses.  The files I was trying to download had a certificate that was expired.  When I ran "setup" nothing happened.  I have loaded ACAD many many times with no problems.  The certificate was the only thing I could see which might be the problem.  That's what I was talking about.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: Loading AutoCAD 2013

05-31-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: rfarleman

When did you download the files?

 

Whether the certificate is good or bad shouldn't cause any problems with the installer or how the program works. 

Member
rfarleman
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 5 of 5 (190 Views)

Re: Loading AutoCAD 2013

05-31-2013 03:49 PM in reply to: rfarleman

Thanks for the reply.  I bought a new laptop 2 days ago and I was trying to install ACAD Mechanical & Inventor 2013 on it today 2/31/13.  The new computer is windows 8, hp with Intel i5, 2.5GHz, 6GB Ram, 64 bit.  Still trying to learn where things are in Windows 8.

 

Thanks again,

Ron

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!