Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LMTools Move to new Server.

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Bob_Ross_9999
523 Views, 2 Replies

LMTools Move to new Server.

Hi,

Im a way CAD noob. Thus apologies in advance.

I have been tasked with moving our LMtools to a new server due to the need for 2015.

'current/ to be old server' is windows server 2003R2 we are using version 11.11 of lmtools currently.

The 'new' lmtools server is up and running. Its version 11.12.0.0 on a win 2012 R2 server.

I have my GPO set up to push out the environment variable : e.g. ADSK_LICENSE_FILE=@New_SERVER  ( correct? )

Our Cad vendors are getting me a new license for the new server - as it has a new MAC and server name.

Questions would be :

- everything look good thus far ?

- Is there anyway to 'test' before going live.

- im presuming my next steps would be - push out the environ. variable company wide. Take down the old LMtools. Bring up the new one ?..

- How do I verify it's actually using the Environ. variable correctly ?. We have some users that dont like to reboot their cad machines and just goto standby.. would they have to reboot ?

- I deleted a .LIC file for AutoCAD 2014 And forced my variable to point to a BAD server.. it still came up.. im presuming due to the current lmtools server working fine.

- What if two LMTools servers come up with the exact same license file..but on two different servers on the same network ?

Basically im looking for 'best practice' here... cuz if i muck this up.. I will have a lot of usually friendly CAD users at my desk.. haha

thanks much,

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
dembkod
in reply to: Bob_Ross_9999

Bob_Ross_9999

Hello, I will answer in order.