Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
LotzH
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 1 of 3 (439 Views)

LMTools INFO

439 Views, 2 Replies
01-02-2013 05:08 AM

Hi There

 

I would just like to find out whether anyone has seen any issues regarding multiple users pulling a network licence if there is only one available ie. User 1 pulls a Licence and then borrows it for a "x" ammount of time. Then User 2 pulls that same licence and then borrows it for a "x" ammount of time and so on and on. There is obviously something that you need to do so that this can happen. I do not want to reveal this but I do want to find out whether this is an isolated case or not.

 

You will also then find that you will not be able to return that Licence that has been borrowed out. But there is a way around that too. There is no funny business or third party apps used. Only Autodesk software.

 

I think it is a issue on Autodesk's side and I did make them aware of it. This is purely to find out if this is a common thing as you will be able to run a whole drawing office on 1 NLM. Which of coarse is illegal.

 

Again this is purely to find out whether there are users that know of this.

 

Regards

HLotz

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,747
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (428 Views)

Re: LMTools INFO

01-02-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: LotzH

Clearly there are ways to circumvent licensing with hacks and cracks and other methods, as you have suggested.  If someone wants to steal a license, they are going to do it.  Autodesk will audit companies though and punishment is swift and severe.  Just ask anyone who has undergone it.  Further discussion here on this peer forum is not recommended. 

 

If you suspect piracy, it is best to report it here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=340446

Contributor
LotzH
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 3 of 3 (418 Views)

Re: LMTools INFO

01-02-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: LotzH
Sorry if you have misunderstood what the point was of this topic. I have clearly stated that this is for information purpose and that there was no hacks, cracks, or anything used. I have also said that this was escalated to Autodesk. I am just as much against piracy and unlawfullness as the next person. I have worked for a reseller and have first hand experience with this. All I'm trying to get at is that surely I am not the only one to have found this problem. As it is an Autodesk problem as it is there software and software that they utilize. It is an issue in the software. I should also stare that I have found this issue by mistake.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.