Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
nigel.stent
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-18-2010
Message 1 of 4 (385 Views)

Licensing in Deployments for SCCM deployment

385 Views, 3 Replies
03-06-2013 01:24 PM

Hi,

 

I have been tasked with creating deployments for multiple Autodesk products for our ANZ region. I have a couple of questions with the main one being around licensing.

 

We have redundant license servers and they are currently set via environmental variables (ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE) where we specify @server1;@server2 these are managed by Group Policy across all PC's in the ANZ region.

 

When it comes to creating a deployment I can then add as a package to our master SCCM server and then let SCCM deploy out to our secondary servers in each AD site I have to add server names into the list. I dont want to do this as they are already managed elswehere and they can change.

 

What is the best method for getting past this limitation in the deployment creator?

 

The other smaller question is does anyone have experience with deployments like this (roughly 30 sites, 5000 staff of which probably 100-300 will have plain CAD installed and then a mix of the other products? I have an issue with the package working fine for Win7 clients but XP clients run the install no logs are created and no files are actually copied to the C:\Program files\Autodesk\<product>2013 location. So if anyone can shed any light onto that, that would be good too.

 

Thanks

 

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 2 of 4 (357 Views)

Re: Licensing in Deployments for SCCM deployment

03-07-2013 04:38 AM in reply to: nigel.stent

If you are setting the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE environment variable this will take presidence over the server specified in the deployment wizard, see http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS71384.

With WIndows XP the DirectX component from the media has to be installed manually, it will not install correctly on XP from SCCM, http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1106168

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
nigel.stent
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-18-2010
Message 3 of 4 (343 Views)

Re: Licensing in Deployments for SCCM deployment

03-07-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: nigel.stent

Hi Danny,

 

Thanks for the reply. I will look into the licensing variable a bit more.

 

For XP I am already doing DirectX, Visual C++ an the .NET framework updates as seperate steps before attempting to install the deployment.

 

I have had instances where setup.exe is running (can tell from task manager on the machine running the installation) but no log file is created and only the folder in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\ is created but nothing copied into it. This kind of behaviour is making it quite hard to troubleshoot why its doing what its doing.

 

Cheers

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 4 of 4 (341 Views)

Re: Licensing in Deployments for SCCM deployment

03-07-2013 12:39 PM in reply to: nigel.stent

On one of the XP systems try enabling the Installer logging, http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314852.

Also with an SCCM install since it is installed as the System account all the log files will be in the C:\Windows\Temp folder.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.