Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
Simon_Weel
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
Message 1 of 3 (275 Views)
Accepted Solution

Licenses have me puzzled

275 Views, 2 Replies
04-02-2012 08:33 AM

It's that time of year subscription users can download new versions of AutoCAD and Revit Suite release 2013. They both come with a new serial number.
For AutoCAD, we have subscription for 3 licenses. For Revit Arch. Suite we have subscription for 6 licenses. Before installing stuff, I obtained license files for both AutoCAD 2013 and Revit Suite 2013 and copied those license files to the license manager folder. I then let the license manager reread the files. Performed a status inquiry. There I see 3 licenses for AutoCAD 2013 and a number of previous versions. For Revit Suite 2013 and a number of previous versions, I see 6 licenses. So far so good.

 

Later this day, one of my colleagues tries to start AutoCAD 2011 but is presented a license error. Weird, because there should be 3 + 6 = 9 licenses for AutoCAD and they're not all in use. When I remove the new license files and perform a reread, things are back to 'normal' - i.e. my colleague can start AutoCAD 2011 without error.

 

To get things clear, I've been reading KB articles about combining license files, so they will properly cascade. I gave it a try, and combined all license files into one. But the result is the same as when I added the release 2013 licenses. So again, I rolled things back.

 

I wonder if the license mechanism works as I think it works? Suppose we have 3 licenses for AutoCAD and 6 licenses for Revit Suite. We are going to install both Revit 2013 and AutoCAD 2013 on 12 pc’s. Those pc's already have AutoCAD 2011 and Revit 2012, installed with 'old' serialnumbers:
• Obtain a license file for Revit Suite, serial ABC.
• Obtain a license file for AutoCAD, serial XYZ.
• Install Revit 2013 on 12 pc’s using serial ABC.
• Install AutoCAD 2013 on 12 pc’s using serial XYZ.
• AutoCAD 2010 – 2013 can be started simultaneously on 9 pc’s.
• Revit 2010 – 2013 can be started simultaneously on 9 pc’s.

 

As said, this is how I think it works, but apparently it doesn’t? When AutoCAD 2011 is started on 3 pc's, I can't start it on number four. Can anybody explain if, and why, I’m wrong?

 

Simon

the license manager also needs to be updated every year just like the license files

the latest version is 11.10: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18610121&linkID=12305695

try updating that and see if it works

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,617
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (273 Views)

Re: Licenses have me puzzled

04-02-2012 08:41 AM in reply to: Simon_Weel

Serial numbers don't matter on the installs for network licensing.  What error number are you getting on the 2011 client when launching?  Your Subscription license for 2013 should allow you to continue running 2011. 

 

Post your status enquiry from LMTOOLS here.  Worst case, PM me your combined .LIC file.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,575
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 3 (272 Views)

Re: Licenses have me puzzled

04-02-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: Simon_Weel

the license manager also needs to be updated every year just like the license files

the latest version is 11.10: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18610121&linkID=12305695

try updating that and see if it works

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!