Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
jwallin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 1 of 11 (1,851 Views)

License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

1851 Views, 10 Replies
02-18-2010 09:31 AM
Hi, I am the IT Support person for a college and am in the process of testing our various applications on the Windows 7 platform. Our ACAD license server (version 11.5.0.0) is on a windows 2003 SP3 server, and it is functioning correctly with our Windows XP clients. I was trying to install AutoCAD on windows 7, but when I try to enter the name of the license server I get an error saying it either does not exist or is not available. I have checked that LMGRD is running and everything appears to be in order. I have tried specifying the license server with its DNS name as well as IP.

Your assistance is appreciated,

James
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 11 (1,851 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

02-18-2010 09:47 AM in reply to: jwallin

I assume you are installing AutoCAD 2010 as this year's release is the only one compatible with Windows 7. Furthermore, do you get connectivity when you try to ping the servername and is the response the correct IP address? When do you get the error? After the product is installed and launched? If so, this can probably be resolved in any number of ways. I just need more detailed information to assist you.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
jwallin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 3 of 11 (1,851 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

03-02-2010 09:40 AM in reply to: jwallin
Hi Travis,

thanks for your reply.

Yes, I'm installing ACAD 2010, I can ping the server by "servername.mydomain.ca" and get the correct IP back in the reply on the Win 7 machine. I have ACAD 2010 installed on XP machines in my labs and they are functioning fine.... They can access the license server OK.

I am getting the error during the install configuration where it asks for the License Type. Network, single license server, when I enter the name of the server such "servername.mydomain.ca" or the IP of the server I get "You entered the name of a server that does not exist or is currently not available on the network. To ignore and continue, click Yes. To change the server name, click No."

Regards,

James
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 11 (1,851 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

03-02-2010 09:42 AM in reply to: jwallin
The license manager usually ignores the domain name. You should just enter the hostname without the domain name. Also try to ping the server by just hostname. See if that helps.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
jwallin
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-18-2010
Message 5 of 11 (1,851 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

03-02-2010 10:43 AM in reply to: jwallin
Thanks Travis... it appears we were having some DNS problems. I wasn't able to ping by the hostname only. The license server was on a subdomain, but after adding that in, it connected fine... Looking too deep and missed the obvious.. thanks for the re-focus.

James
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 11 (1,851 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

03-02-2010 10:44 AM in reply to: jwallin
That's what I do. :-) Glad you are back up and running.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Contributor
vtolentino
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
Message 7 of 11 (1,846 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

06-16-2010 05:32 AM in reply to: jwallin

Hi guys,

 

My customer is having the same issue. All machines that have Windows Xp are able to find the server but the last on which is running Windows 7 O.S. is unable to find the server. We've tried to ping the server and we get successful doing it. After that we tried to change the host name and insert the host ip but the issue keeps happening.

Please does anyone have any idea?

 

Best Regards,

 

Victor Oliveira Tolentino

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 11 (1,822 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

06-16-2010 01:25 PM in reply to: vtolentino

It's best not to disable your Windows Firewall in Windows 7.  What you likely need to do is make a host entry change to your HOSTS file located at C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc.  Simply put the correct IPv4 address and the hostname and save the file.  You may also want to create two system environment variables called ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE with a value of @SERVERNAME and FLEXLM_TIMEOUT with a value of 1000000.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
LouisinLondon
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 9 of 11 (569 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

09-13-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: jwallin

We have the exact same problem.

 

Screenshot attached:

 

--------------------------- Autodesk Education Master Suite 2014 ---------------------------

You entered the name of a server that does not exist or is currently not available on the network.

To ignore and continue, click Yes. To change the server name, click No.

--------------------------- Yes   No   ---------------------------

 

DNS = fine

License server is serving to other software using LMNGR fine..

License file is fine - and validates

 

 

error-license-serveer-not-found.png
Server diagnostics:

-------- Diagnostics -------- FLEXnet diagnostics on Fri 9/13/2013 13:28

----------------------------------------------------- License file: C:\flexlm\aw_pde-cad.dat ----------------------------------------------------- "Studiof" v2008, vendor: sgiawd   License server: pde-cad.mdx.ac.uk   floating license no expiration date

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- -------- Diagnostics -------- FLEXnet diagnostics on Fri 9/13/2013 13:28

----------------------------------------------------- License file: C:\Program Files\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\AutoDesk-pde-cad.lic ----------------------------------------------------- "86112EMS_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- "86087ENCSU_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad   floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- "86058MAYAMMR1_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad   floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- "86090SFTIMSIB_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad   floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- "86095TRTLPB_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad   floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out ----------------------------------------------------- "86208VRDPRO_2014_0F" v1.000, vendor: adskflex   License server: pde-cad   floating license  starts: 1-jan-1990,   expires: 03-sep-2014   Requests from the same USER/HOST do not consume a new license

This license can be checked out -----------------------------------------------------

 

 

What we have tried so far:

 

1) Host entry to point the server IP

1.2.3.4 pdecad

 

since we thought it might be the "-" in the DNS?

 

2) Disabled all the other services running under LMTools -> including 2008 3dmax (which runs' fine..)

 

 

3) Switched off Firewall on Both sides.

 

4) Switched Win7 "networking" feature to WORK network. -under sharing settings...

 

 

Advice please...

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 11 (557 Views)

Re: License server not found when trying to install on Windows 7

09-13-2013 09:06 AM in reply to: LouisinLondon

Ignore the error and continue installation.

 

It's possible that your server is not listing itself in the directory, but so long as you can PING by hostname or IP address, and ports 2080 and 27000 are open, you should be fine.  Just get the product installed and launch it.

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.