Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
kent_2010
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 1 of 11 (12,659 Views)
Accepted Solution

License problem in GUI mode

12659 Views, 10 Replies
06-10-2010 03:32 AM

Hi

Can some one help me??

 When I try to start Maya 2011 Trial I get this message

 

License problem in GUI mode launch dialog message

 

License method:

Can't determine license method

 

Product choice:

can't determine product choice

 

License file override:

environment variable MAYA_ALT_EN is not set

 

I used Windows XP service pack 2 64 bit

I have a Maya 8.5 installed on the computer.

 

I can see that Google have 4000 hits about ''Maya License problem in GUI mode''

but no good solutions 

Thank you

 

Kent

 

Problem solved

 

Ok here is what I did

 

Go to Control panel find system icon and activated it

go to advance and enverironment Variables

scroll down to maya-location

tast edit

and the new variable value is

C:\Autodesk\maya2011

 

or what ever location your Maya 2011 is on.

 

hope this will help some.

 

kent

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,458
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 2 of 11 (12,646 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

06-11-2010 02:43 AM in reply to: kent_2010

hi

 

Follwing thread has some pointers to similar issue.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Maya-2011-Trial-Installation-Error/m-p/2675334/...

 

Since you have Maya 8.5, please pay attention to the ENv. Variables when changed. it might effect both the installation.

 

Best Regards

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
kent_2010
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 3 of 11 (12,639 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

06-11-2010 06:31 AM in reply to: hashim.mundol

Hi Hasim

and thanks for the quick respond

 

first i have try to delet this folder C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2011\adlm

and restart.

 then I have try to delete this C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\AdLM

and restart.

Then I have deletet the first line in License.env

 

MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=network

 

-no dot ind the end.

Still non of the solutions can start the program.

 

Thanks

 

kent.

 

ps I will be back on a weeks time.

 

 

Active Member
kent_2010
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 4 of 11 (12,512 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

07-07-2010 06:09 AM in reply to: kent_2010

Problem solved

 

Ok here is what I did

 

Go to Control panel find system icon and activated it

go to advance and enverironment Variables

scroll down to maya-location

tast edit

and the new variable value is

C:\Autodesk\maya2011

 

or what ever location your Maya 2011 is on.

 

hope this will help some.

 

kent

New Member
chatie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 5 of 11 (11,222 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

02-11-2011 08:58 AM in reply to: kent_2010

Still not working with me.

 

Please Help!

Member
gooorylan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 6 of 11 (8,105 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

06-04-2012 03:06 PM in reply to: kent_2010

just paste this inside maya environment file in folder    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\bin

 

 


MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

open that file by wordad and add this string:  MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

Member
gooorylan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 7 of 11 (8,103 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

06-04-2012 03:08 PM in reply to: kent_2010

just paste this inside maya environment file in folder    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\bin

 

 


MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

open that file by wordpad and add this string:  MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

after that the error will not appear just activation window wil be

 

Member
gooorylan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 8 of 11 (8,102 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

06-04-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: hashim.mundol

just paste this inside maya environment file in folder    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2013\bin

 

 


MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

open that file by wordpad and add this string:  MAYA_LICENSE=unlimited

MAYA_LICENSE_METHOD=standalone

 

after that the error will not appear just activation window wil be

 

New Member
mark.rudolff
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 9 of 11 (7,309 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

09-26-2012 09:58 AM in reply to: kent_2010

did these and NOTHING changed :smileyfrustrated:S

New Member
lksmnl10
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2013
Message 10 of 11 (4,544 Views)

Re: License problem in GUI mode

07-02-2013 10:50 PM in reply to: mark.rudolff

HI!

 Ok! This Solution must work! 

 

Here are three options that I have: Only Windows Sorry for other OS.

1. Re-install it  or repair it(Control Panel - Double Click on Maya - and then click repair)

 

2. Repair it( Control Panel - Double Click on Maya - and then click repair)

 

3. Uninstall it ( control panel- program (uninstall programs) and then uninstall it.- after that go to:C:\Program Files\Autodesk or C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk / the place where you saved or installed Maya, Depending on your bit(version) and delete the files such as Maya. And then install  egg.install.exe <the software that you downloaded {Maya}>. 

 

Note:!!!!! If your serial number and product key will work again!!!!! So I suggest that if you don't remember don't think about it! 

And also if you are a student you can get student account and download it and get the software for free.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!