Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 1 of 10 (251 Views)

license policy for render server

251 Views, 9 Replies
03-28-2013 05:14 AM

HI

 

I got several questions for maya and max license policy
on render server.

 

If I have 12 render servers (these machine are only just for rendering)

do i have to purchase 12 3DSmax and Maya ?

or is there any other licensing options for render server?

 

and that license policy is world common?

Thank you.

Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 2 of 10 (227 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: wildcat6110
I mean...that license policy is applied worldwide? Thank you.
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,501
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 10 (214 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: wildcat6110

Previous policy has always been that render slaves do not require additional licensing.  I do not believe that has changed, but you may be able to verify that in the license agreement. 

Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 4 of 10 (208 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 08:53 AM in reply to: wildcat6110

Thank you for your rapid answer.


There is One more thing that I want to know.
Is That license policy applied worldwide?
(for Japan,Africa,korea...?etc)

 

Thank you again..

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,501
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 10 (205 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: wildcat6110

I would suspect so.  Autodesk does offer global licensing.  If you are running in different territories, you will want to use Global or licensing from each respective region.  You cannot run licensing from one territory into another. 

Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 6 of 10 (200 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: TravisNave

 

I Know that I can't run licensing from one territory into another country.


My question is...
Is it possible that korean sellers have diffent license policy for render farm?
Some sellers said that I should buy licenses for ALL render servers.
Is it really necessary?

 

Thank you so much.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,501
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 10 (187 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 09:50 AM in reply to: wildcat6110

Sounds like they want your money.  Is it possible that different territories have different rules on this?  Yes.  Likely?  Probably not.  Render farming does not require additional licenses.  Launching and modeling in the application does.

Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 8 of 10 (181 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 09:54 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you soooooo much !!!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,501
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 10 (178 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: wildcat6110
Active Member
wildcat6110
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Message 10 of 10 (175 Views)

Re: license policy for render server

03-28-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you again..

I already searched that document.


However they said that "IF WE SAY SO"
that is license policy for render farm in this nation.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.